Upgraded CPU need info... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2006, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default Upgraded CPU need info...

I just upgraded my Dell Dimension 4300 from an Intel Pentium 4 to a Intel Celeron. I used the heat sink already in the computer (not the one that came with the Celeron; It's pretty big though)
The computer works but I have some problems:
At first, the bios did not acknoledge it had a new CPU in it. At all. It still thought the old pentium was in it and said the clock speed was 0 mhz. (it was actually 2.7 ghz) But the computer worked fine. I flashed my bios. It now has the clock speed but not the CPU name right nor the correct memory speed. So my question is:

1.) How do I get it to recognize the new cpu.

2.) Since I used the heat sink on the old processor, will I have any problems with overheating. It hasn't yet and I watched awhole dvd and checked to see the temp of the processor every few minutes. I also aplied new heat sink lube to it also.
__________________

dragon master is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

hmm did you make sure the mobo supported the Celeron CPU? that could be the problem
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

How do you upgrade a pentium with a celeron, you would need to have a significantly higher frequency on the Cele. Most likely H4x3r is right, your motherboard doesn't support celerons. I doubt dells actually use motherboards that will support other types than the specific one it is made for.

If you get it working, don't worry about overheating especially since you used the paste.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.