Which upgrade would be faster ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2007, 05:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Question Which upgrade would be faster ?

Which upgrade would be faster ?

Upgrade 1 : AM2 Athlon 64 X2 4000+, 1.5GB DDR2 PC4300 RAM, NFORCE 4 SLI, 2x 256MB Geforce 8600GT SLI.

Upgrade 2 : Core 2 Duo E4500, 1.5GB DDR2 PC4300 RAM, Intel 965P chipset, 256MB Geforce 8600GT.

Thanx
__________________

iceware is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 06:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

well what do you have now?
whats your budget?
whats your main use?
which country do you live in?
have you got any specialist secondary uses (e.g. CAD, media editing)?
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 06:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

Well I just use it mainly for gaming and just the other normal stuff like surfing the net, listening to music, watching a movie.

Currently I have a Pentium D 830, 1GB RAM, Intel 945P Chipset, 128MB Geforce 6600GT.
iceware is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 06:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

budget?

You will need 2gb of ddr2 ram and most people get 6400
A 8800gts 320mb will be better then 2x8600GT (sli gives you a 30-40% performance increase for 100% of cost)
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

BTW You cannot use PC4300 RAM with the P965 chipset you must use DDR 2 RAM. Upgrade 2 would be better but get e4300 and OC it, 2gigz of PC2 6400, X1950XT or X1950PRO they will both kill the 8600 for a cheaper price and P35 chippset mobo, preferably the Gigabyte P35 DS3-R.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

Hello,

I'm sure PC4300 or PC2-4300 does not exist :freak:.

Think he meant PC2-4200 which is DDR2 SDRAM 533 Mhz.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

Iceware, give us a budget and where you are from. We need to know how much you willing to spend before we can recommend a system to you.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 01:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

Upgrade 2. Get the E6420 and OC it!
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 01:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

I think E4500 at stock performs on par with E6400, so it is not much slower than E6420. And it is going to cost only $133 on July 22
maroon1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 07:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default Re: Which upgrade would be faster ?

Thanks to all your suggestions.

I ended up going with a Core 2 E6320, Abit IB9 (P965 Chipset) and just added 512MB to my exsisting 1GB DDR2 533MHz RAM. The video card well i got it for free a gigabyte 256MB GDDR3 8600GT OC'd.

I managed to get an overclock on the processor from 1.86GHz to 2.10GHz but my RAM kept me from going any higher.

Thanks for all the input.
__________________

iceware is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.