Upgrade to Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2007, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Upgrade to Vista?

Ok so I know there is lots of people saying stay away from vista or at least there was. Anyways I need to format my PC and cant find my XP cd anywhere so I was thinking I might upgrade to vista. I was wondering is there any problems I might face with my hardware or will it even run vista smoothly. I would only really be interested in Vista Ultimate as since I would be spending cash I might aswell get the full package. What do you guys think?
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: Upgrade to Vista?

Anyone any idea's?
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: Upgrade to Vista?

Hey I am running vista x64, it should run alright for you. 1GB ram might be a little small for vista though. I am running 2gb and the ram usage hovers around 50%. Vista uses the rest for cache (speeds up starting programs you use often).

I actually really enjoy using vista. Except for a few things (just the networking control panel section) it works perfectly. Even with the 64bit edition I only had to remove my 10 year old PCI ATI TV tuner due to lack of drivers.

If you want to be sure your computer runs fast, stick with XP (if you can find that disc).

There are ways you could test windows for 30 days before buying. If any of your friends have a vista cd just install it without a serial number (leave it blank) it will give you a 30 day trial of the OS. Then (provided you have installed the same version you wish to buy) you can simply buy the software, and plug in the key (activate it).

Good luck!


EDIT: I also just noticed, a 5700 nvidia card. I was running vista no problems (aero enabled) on a 128mb Geforce 5200.
cmolson is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Upgrade to Vista?

I would say check the programs your normally want to run and/or any drivers you need to use for your system and make sure everthing is compatible with Vista, only reason I stayed away from it was cause I had hardware that did not yet have drivers for vista.

Your specs are also a little low. I would say run the Vista test to see if your PC is Vista ready (its on the microsoft website).
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 11:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Upgrade to Vista?

Vista is a memory hog. You might want to go above 1gb if you want to run it effectively.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: Upgrade to Vista?

thanks people, i will get rid of my 2 sticks of 512 ram and get 2 1gb. see how it works out i guess :-)
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to m0nte
Default Re: Upgrade to Vista?

For me i will stay with XP, because vista need higher PC requirements and lots of software and games are not compatible with it.
m0nte is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrade to Vista?

I have been using Vista Ultimate for a while now. Didn't like it at the beginning but LOVE it now. I had to upgrade from 1GB to 2GB and haven't had any problems what so ever.

Ultimate had few extra stuff that you will find useful. I think you should look for your XP CD so you can do an upgrade instead of buying the full version. You will save yourself a lot of $$$

Good Luck!
__________________

__________________
http://www.EnvisionComp.com
CompShack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 09:26 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Vista Upgrade Christon Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-07-2007 12:59 PM
upgrade to vista j3wcl@w Microsoft Windows and Software 23 03-30-2007 01:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.