Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2012, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

Hello, I know a similar question has been asked a few threads below but I didn't want to hijack the thread.

I've got the q6600 with ds3l mobo (see sig). It's got sataII if I'm not mistaken.

In the other thread the OCZ vertex2 was recommended. Will the kingston ssdnow v200 work just as well? It's only 61 for 128gb. It's sataIII but should be backward compatible with sataII right?
__________________

__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,510
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

Yes, SATAIII is backwards compatible with SATAII.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude112 View Post
Hello, I know a similar question has been asked a few threads below but I didn't want to hijack the thread.

I've got the q6600 with ds3l mobo (see sig). It's got sataII if I'm not mistaken.

In the other thread the OCZ vertex2 was recommended. Will the kingston ssdnow v200 work just as well? It's only €61 for 128gb. It's sataIII but should be backward compatible with sataII right?
You can run any SSD you want on any board. The drive will just run at the speeds the slots are capable of on the board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

That is reassuring. The kingston it is.

Is a clean install recommended or will cloning my c drive on the ssd work just as well?
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

As long as you have enough room to fit on the SSD, yes, you can clone it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude112 View Post
That is reassuring. The kingston it is.

Is a clean install recommended or will cloning my c drive on the ssd work just as well?
You can clone, but a clean install is always best when going from HDD to SSD.
If you decide to clone, then I suggest looking up the guide CarnageX made to enable AHCI while maintaining your old install.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

Cloning would have my preference. Not really wanting to reinstall all...
Am currently on vacation but will be back in a few days. Will check if it's set to AHCI. Is it likely that it's already set as AHCI?
__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude112 View Post
Cloning would have my preference. Not really wanting to reinstall all...
Am currently on vacation but will be back in a few days. Will check if it's set to AHCI. Is it likely that it's already set as AHCI?
Doubtful. Default setting in the bios is IDE.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,510
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You can clone, but a clean install is always best when going from HDD to SSD.
If you decide to clone, then I suggest looking up the guide CarnageX made to enable AHCI while maintaining your old install.
I made a guide? Lol I don't remember making one.

If you do clone, make sure the partition(s) are smaller than the side of the SSD. Then you can run CloneZilla; I HIGHLY recommend doing a disk to image, and then an image to disk clone. It takes longer... but it's safer. I tried doing a disk-to-disk clone from HDD to SSD on my friend's laptop... needless to say I spent about 12+ hours trying to get his original HDD to boot because something went wrong during the clone and it affected his original drive.

After you clone though, if you're on Windows 7, run a chkdsk c: /b

The /b switch was made after Win7 for cloning drives; it resets the badsector flags, and re-scans the drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,298
Default Re: Upgrade to ssd on lga775 board

I coulda swore you were the one that wrote a guide to switch to AHCI, or was the one telling people how.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD upgrade advice. jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-05-2012 03:16 PM
SSD Upgrade mastaclue00 System Upgrades 4 08-25-2011 08:10 PM
SSD Upgrade Night Fox New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-04-2010 04:57 PM
Looking for donated upgrade parts (LGA775 C2D, C2Q) Trotter Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 133 01-15-2010 08:37 AM
Looking for mATX lga775 board Peter.Cort Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-29-2008 05:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.