Upgrade soon, but what? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2011, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Upgrade soon, but what?

This Christmas I am looking to give my rig a little upgrade but I'm not sure what I should upgrade, I've brought it down to either more RAM, or a SSD, I've got some questions about SSD's and I'll need some parts suggested because I have no clue whats good now an either of the two markets.

Currently I've got 4GB of RAM which nowadays is considered the bare minimum. If I were to upgrade I'd want to get 4x4GB, so 16GB of RAM. My current RAM is DDR3-1600 but it does not run at 1600 due to the fact that my CPU isn't clocked high enough, so would it be better to just get 1333 RAM instead?

Now, the big thing that everyone seems to be getting now is a SSD. I'd like to get one but I've got some questions.

1) Do they still have that issue where they can only read/write a certain number of times before they go bad?
2) Can I put certain steam games that I play a lot such as Skyrim on my SSD and leave other games that I don't play as much such as L4D on my regular drive, and can I do the same with Origin and put BF3 on my SSD and leave Crysis 2 on my main drive?
3) I have 2 SATA III ports on my mainboard, would it be worth getting two SSD's and putting them in RAID 0?


Thanks for the help
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 03:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

A SSD will make the most noticeable impact from your day to day operations.

#1
SSD NANDs still have limited writes. and considering that as an issue really isn't fair. hard drives wear out eventually too.

#2
Yes, you just have to change the directory you install your games/programs to during initial installation.
I am unsure about origins though, as I do not use their service.

#3
I am not certain what applications can take advantage of SATA III SSDs in raid 0 at this point. However, I do know as of today, RAID 0 SSDs cannot utilize the trim function (keeps your SSD speedy). and would have to rely on garbage collection.
is it worth it? that's for you to decide.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 07:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

Origin is an all or nothing affair AFAIK. But I have noticed that I spawn in a few seconds faster than most in BF3 and I think it is because of my SSD.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 07:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

You can split up your games. There's no option to do this directly through Steam or Origin, but you can do it: a Directory junction

Install steam and the game you want to move to the other drive on the SSD
Open the command prompt
Right click the game directory FOLDER (doesn't work with files), cut it, and paste it to a directory on the other drive
type: mklink /j "C:\directory\in\steam\or\origin\where\the\folder\ was" "F:\directory\of\the\game"

This puts a symbolic link in the appropriate steam or origin folder that points to the folder in the other drive (no, creating a shortcut through Windows's right-click menu does not do the same thing and does not work). This does not work for Valve games on steam, as their primary files are directly in the game folder, and not in a folder of their own.
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 09:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

Well I guess I'll be getting a SSD. My budget is around $100 for one, do you guys have any suggestions?
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 12:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

Newegg.com - OCZ Solid 3 SLD3-25SAT3-60G 2.5" 60GB SATA III MLC
Talyor is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

Would it be worth it to pay the extra $10 for the OCZ agility drive?
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

Yes...and you should go for the OCZ Vertex if you can...
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

the ssd i posted and the one 35g are the same and the one i posted is 89.99 and mib 79.99
Talyor is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Upgrade soon, but what?

why would you ever need, 16gb of ram?

get the ssd, you only need 4gb

Personally I'm getting the vertex 3 60gb
__________________

DEATHRUNE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade CPU/RAM or to not upgrade? relikpL System Upgrades 10 12-03-2010 02:42 AM
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
CPU upgrade or RAM upgrade klein1jo System Upgrades 12 01-01-2007 10:45 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.