Upgrade or replace? Gfx card. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2011, 05:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: Upgrade or replace? Gfx card.

Excellent! I think ill take your prior advice and go with another 5850. Now comes the hard part... finding another one for under 300$ thats what i paid for my first one brand new. Unless i can mix and match as long as the cards are the same but the brands are different? I actually have a friend looking to get rid of his Sapphire 5850... but its a reference card, would that matter?

Also just a little side note: why am i finding it extremely hard to find anything on the Radeon 5850? Was it a failure? On the Sapphire website they even have the 58xx series listed as legacy and dont make it anymore... yet they continue to make 56xx and 59xx series?
__________________

SubFusion is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 06:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgrade or replace? Gfx card.

As long as the card has the same GPU, you can Xfire/SLI em.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 06:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: Upgrade or replace? Gfx card.

Mines the Cypress Pro edition. Will i need a card with that same edition? Or is that the name of the 5850 gpu, sort of like procs have their code names Thuban, Regor, Sandy Bridge... etc?
SubFusion is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 07:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgrade or replace? Gfx card.

Within the same series. You can hook up a 5850 with any 5850. Sapphire, ASUS, etc. Just if one is more powerful than the other, it will default to the lowest powerful, in XFire/SLI.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My video card went out and was wondering if id be able to replace it. rbbarber24 System Upgrades 2 03-20-2011 12:47 AM
Upgrade or Replace (Budget Gaming Build) Harper New Systems | Building and Buying 11 09-10-2009 03:09 AM
upgrade or replace the_GAME_dx System Upgrades 4 10-03-2006 07:38 AM
Should I replace my wireless card, my memory, or my MB? Ponchus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-28-2006 07:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.