Upgrade RAM in Studio XPS 435mt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2014, 11:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Upgrade RAM in Studio XPS 435mt

Hi,
I could really use some help here.
I have a Dell studio xps 435mt and I am maxing out the RAM with just basic tasks let alone running any necessary programs. I can't afford a new computer right now and so I am trying to buy some RAM to see me through until I am ready for a new machine.
Options I am seeing are all dual channel but my configuration is triple channel...
here is what I have: i7 920 2.67 GHz
Motherboard Dell OR849J CPU 1
3 GHz Triple Channel DDR 531 MHz 7-7-7-20
Running windows 7 64 bit
Have not recently had this thing open so I am not sure how many slots I have but I know the max for expansion was supposed to be 12 G when I purchased. I further know there are no oem modules available.
What are my best options to get this thing running a bit better and maybe see me through until I have more cash lol?
Thanks for your help!
__________________

sparkyval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Upgrade RAM in Studio XPS 435mt

Maxing out 3GB of RAM with "basic" tasks? CLose out of background tasks man.

You can run any DDR3 1600MHz setup. so if you wanted to toss a 2x4GB in there it'll work fine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 07:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrade RAM in Studio XPS 435mt

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Maxing out 3GB of RAM with "basic" tasks? CLose out of background tasks man.

You can run any DDR3 1600MHz setup. so if you wanted to toss a 2x4GB in there it'll work fine.
Okay so I checked and it is currently running 3 single 1G slots and at 1024MHz and there are 3 slots left...so does it matter if I put different sizes in the other slots? will it access all the Gs or is it a waste of time? Sorry... I don't really grasp how the triple channel thing works.
sparkyval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrade RAM in Studio XPS 435mt

i guess I want to know does everything have to match on the other three slots to these three or can I just add ram willy nilly
sparkyval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Upgrade RAM in Studio XPS 435mt

No, don't worry about the triple channel thing.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Upgrade RAM in Studio XPS 435mt

A friend of mine had a similar setup and instead of the triple channel he just put 4 2 gig sticks and it ran fine.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell XPS 435MT Upgrade Questions ithanz New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-17-2013 07:14 PM
I need Dell XPS Studio 1640 software help davidbowie333 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-13-2009 06:34 PM
HP e9150t vs. Dell Studio XPS - Need buying help Moondoggy System Upgrades 17 07-28-2009 11:09 AM
Dell Inspiron XPS Gen 2/Dell XPS M170 Ronnie Laptops and Notebooks 1 02-24-2008 05:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.