upgrade possible? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2006, 04:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default upgrade possible?

Ok I just upgraded my computer and am unsure of what to do with my old parts.
My leftover/old parts: viakt266a mobo
athlon xp 2000
pc 2100 512 ram
geforce 3 ti 200
What I was thinking of was.. rather than trashing it, put it into my old pmmx computer's case and try to use the computer as a backup/2nd computer. So a few basic parts such as a psu/and hd would make it work well right? or should I just forget the whole idea..
__________________

__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

no! That would be a great download box or anything! Believe it or not, that's a fast computer to a lot of people. That can be a GREAT second computer. Not a shotty one at all! Keep that sucker around. You'll be surprised how many things you'll end up using it for.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 06:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yeah i agree 100%. I am going to upgrade my comp pretty soon too and with the parts kleft over i am going to do the same thing. It would be cool to have a second computer and plus when people come over and stuff you can just let them use that computer instead of yours so you can keep your computer to yourself lol
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

good for lan parties, that will run UT2K4 & CS:S so that would be a rather decent lan rig
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yeah that would be perfect for a lan party rig. I'd just add a cheap fx5200 or fx5500 and i would be good to go for lan parties.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

make it a 5700 & you can run bf2, if not a bit slow. maybe get some ddr400 so you can OC to improve performance, if its old may as well have some fun with it
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.