Upgrade or New Build? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2015, 01:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

It's kind of a tough choice depending on what you want to spend, You could get an AMF FX 8320 for $140 and overclock it a lot since you have a premium mobo, or spend $240+ on an intel. It's really up to you. Both would be an improvement, but until then you should have some fun overclocking your X4 955!
__________________

__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 03:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

$189 for a 4440 which would do the trick, and only requires the use of an H81 board which can be had usually for less than 50 bucks. At this point it's pretty pointless to invest in the older AMD platform.

If my gf wasn't on my Phenom 2 machine I'd take a look at how much an overclock would really help in Arma3 in his case with a 970. I still have a feeling that even at 4Ghz it wouldn't make much of a difference.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 04:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

I can't even overclock it by much.

The stock speed is 3.2 with the stock HS+FAN.
I can get 3.5-3.6 at 65 C under load. It is recommended I don't pass 62C on my 955 BE.

I looked, and it seems that intel performs much better for arma 3, but the problem is I would need new CPU+MOBO+RAM. Which if I want to see an improvement would be like 500$ easy.

Still Thanks!
RossNews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 01:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RossNews View Post
I can't even overclock it by much.

The stock speed is 3.2 with the stock HS+FAN.
I can get 3.5-3.6 at 65 C under load. It is recommended I don't pass 62C on my 955 BE.

I looked, and it seems that intel performs much better for arma 3, but the problem is I would need new CPU+MOBO+RAM. Which if I want to see an improvement would be like 500$ easy.

Still Thanks!
Your looking at the brand new Intel Skylake CPUs and DDR4, these are very expensive, you can get great performance with an Intel Haswell, whats your budget? you could get a good upgrade from spending roughly $250 or you could get an overclockable Intel that will last a you a few years at top quality.
__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 01:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RossNews View Post
I can't even overclock it by much.

The stock speed is 3.2 with the stock HS+FAN.
I can get 3.5-3.6 at 65 C under load. It is recommended I don't pass 62C on my 955 BE.

I looked, and it seems that intel performs much better for arma 3, but the problem is I would need new CPU+MOBO+RAM. Which if I want to see an improvement would be like 500$ easy.

Still Thanks!
You can take that chip to 80c with no issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve10765 View Post
Your looking at the brand new Intel Skylake CPUs and DDR4, these are very expensive, you can get great performance with an Intel Haswell, whats your budget? you could get a good upgrade from spending roughly $250 or you could get an overclockable Intel that will last a you a few years at top quality.
+1, I've said this I think 3 times already too. i5 4460 for $189 and an H81 board for about 50, retain your current RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 02:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

Hahaha the damn low Canadian dollar makes the prices seem so much more.

Can you recommend a solid board for the 4460/4690k/4790k?
RossNews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 02:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

Ohhh Canada. Budget on board?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 02:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Ohhh Canada. Budget on board?
I WAS thinking of picking up the 4690k for 325$ and maybe blow another 75$ on a board...

ALSO. I cleaned out the dust in the case, OC'd from 3.2 to 3.7 on a stock Heatsink and Fan and I'm getting about 60C while arma went from 10-15 frames to about 18-25. However I think the chip has limitations and they are below the threshold I want to play at.

EDIT: 3.7 Proved not to be stable. After 10 minutes the temp reached the 75C+ mark and the pc shut down to prevent damage.

So mo much for slightly better frames XD
RossNews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 03:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Upgrade or New Build?

I figured OCing wouldn't help much. You haven't been the only one to ask about Arma on these forums.

I just looked on Newegg.ca and man, no 4460 or 4440 wtf!
Idk for that price the 6600k is a better deal. Even if you have to get a cheap board just for the time being it won't need to be overclocked anytime soon.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
Upgrade current system or Build a new one?? Shadow03 System Upgrades 6 11-06-2005 11:20 PM
One Last Upgrade, Or Wait To Build Completely New System? grandgnu New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-16-2005 12:00 AM
Build new or upgrade current dartmania2002 System Upgrades 5 09-07-2005 10:09 PM
I want to build a new computer or upgrade the one I have. But how? No0b Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 10-14-2004 07:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.