Upgrade my CPU? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 09:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Why get an intel when AMD surpasses it by far?
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

...and you can get one with comparable performance for MUCH less...
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

yup... and better speeds too.. just because the gigahurtz doesnt match up doesnt mean its not as fast by any means. amd as a better "talking" ability than intel.. read around the forums and save yourself a few bucks bart
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to locki433
Default

He has a Intel based machine and just wants to drop a new proc in it. You guys start yelling AMD AMD. The P4 may only have a 533FSB, but he's getting a better proc than the Cely D.
__________________
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Opteron 175 @ 2.80Ghz
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
OCZ DDR500 2048 Gold XTC
eVGA 7800GTx 256MB PCI-E
Lite-On 16x DVD+-RW DL
Mushkin 120GB SSD SATAIII
Seagate 1TB SataII x 2
Dell 20.1 Inch Widescreen LCD
locki433 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

i never yelled GO AMD GO AMD GET AN AMD THERE BETTER

i threw out my opinion and knowledge, thats all i did
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 02:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

That's pretty much what it sounded like to me...
beardo526 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Intel Pentium 4 > AMD XP ..
Kilew is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 06:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

AMD 64 > P4
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

focus on the question guys :0)
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 08:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

i'm with locki... y'all AMD folks is sum crazy ninjas
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.