upgrade as much as possible!?

rob0602uk

Solid State Member
Hi everyone,

I have just bought a pc off my brother and want to upgrade it for gaming as much as possible and maybe a bit of future-proofing at the same time. I have about £500 and system is as follows:

dell XPS420
Q6600 processor at 2.4GHz
X38 motherboard
3GB ram
450GTS 1GB graphics card
uprated power supply (not sure what exactly)
windows vista 32bit

I was thinking of getting a windows 8 64bit and increasing RAM to 8GB as a start but not sure what to do from there?

many thanks

Rob

Difficult to upgrade DELL PC's - mainly due to power supply- I do not think you can just buy any PSU and switch them out- something about a proprietary power supply- so you have to order from DELL, and Dell only- you need to confirm that as I have no actual experience with that- but had heard/read that that is the case. First, check that out and see if you can get a rated power supply in it and go from there. Without a better PSU - you will be very limited on upgrading the GPU, etc. Also at a CPU speed of 2.4 Ghz you will still be limited, not sure about overclocking on a DELL MOBO either. How old is the PC?

With the dell XPS420 s you can use any standard power supply.

Unless you need a new video card, you don't need a new one.

The lable should have the ratings which will tell you the info.

He has a 450, how does he not need one?

New PSU, Windows 7 or 8 64bit, 8GB of RAM, and a better GPU somewhere in the GTX660ti range and you will be good if you can afford all that. The CPU is still decent, but getting a tad aged for today's games.

Thanks for the help,

the PSU is already upgraded to a novatech 80 plus 500W modular

was thinking of going for 8GB of RAM and have now updated to windows 8 64bit.

If I was to get a GTX660ti would I need to up the power supply, it says 450W minimum on the nvidia website? I'm assuming the GTX660 would just fit straight in too?

Thanks