Upgrade Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 07:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default Upgrade Motherboard

Hey im looking to upgrade my motherboard to a more powerful one thats under $250 with a case and cooling fan if i need to.

Could someone recommend some of that stuff that i cound buy????
__________________

caskonator is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Well whats your CPU?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

need more details
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

It's a crap little Intel Celeron 650mhz
caskonator is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

slot 1 or socket 370?
I can tell you, either one, you won't find a new board for it.
you'll be looking for a second hand one
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Could i get a new cpu then?
caskonator is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah you could, but then you'd probabbly have to upgrade your RAM and video card, and possibly your power supply.

newer boards use DDR RAM, not SD

they use AGP 8X or PCI-E 16X. your system is probabbly at most AGP 2X (AGP 8X is not backward compatible with 2X)

and they usually use more power

although doing so you'd basically have a new computer
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

So you think i'll just be better off to by a new pc?
caskonator is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that depends. do you have what you need now? (except for the motherboard)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

just the processor
__________________

caskonator is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.