Upgrade HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2016, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston, BC, Canada
Posts: 174
Default Upgrade HD

Currently I have a 120 ssd for my OS and main programs. I also have a 500G HD for my smaller programs and two TB HDs for storage.

I'm wanting to replace one of my 1TB HD with a 3TB HD.

Can I do this with my older system?
__________________

__________________
MSI 790GX-G65 motherboard
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 6 Core 2.8GHZ
4x2GB PC3-1066 DDR3-1333 RAM
Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB DDR5
Sound Blaster Audigy 2ZS Platinum
OCZ Vertex 3, 120gig
Seagate Barracuda 500GB(Data) 2X 1TB (Media)
750 Watt PSU
OCZ Vandetta 2 triple heatpipe CPU heatsink
42" LG LCD widescreen
scroudt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 11:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,732
Default Re: Upgrade HD

I don't see why not.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston, BC, Canada
Posts: 174
Default Re: Upgrade HD

Just noticed. I'm running Window 7 Pro
__________________
MSI 790GX-G65 motherboard
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 6 Core 2.8GHZ
4x2GB PC3-1066 DDR3-1333 RAM
Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB DDR5
Sound Blaster Audigy 2ZS Platinum
OCZ Vertex 3, 120gig
Seagate Barracuda 500GB(Data) 2X 1TB (Media)
750 Watt PSU
OCZ Vandetta 2 triple heatpipe CPU heatsink
42" LG LCD widescreen
scroudt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,732
Default Re: Upgrade HD

Still no problem.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU upgrade or RAM upgrade klein1jo System Upgrades 12 01-01-2007 09:45 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 06:16 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 02:36 AM
to upgrade or to not upgrade? liquidmonkey New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-13-2006 10:41 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 12:38 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.