Upgrade to dual channel??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default Upgrade to dual channel???

Hi guys!!
One question... Is it worht it to change my OCZ Platinum edition 3200 512 ram (kit of 2 256 ram) with verry good latencies (3,2,3,5) with 1 512 DUAL CHANNEL???

What will be the difference in performance? Is it noticeble? I'm running a n intel platform....
__________________

iulibiz is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 109
Default

I dunno. It wouldnt be THAT big of a difference. If you want a difference, get a gig of ram. You'd see somthing there.
__________________

Adam123 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

what? If you put one stick of 512 in, you'd be UNDOING your dual channel. Dual channel requires two identical/nearly identical sticks of ram. If you put one in... dual channel operation is gone.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 09:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default

I see. Ok let's say i'll buy 2 of 256 ram dual channel.....How big of a difference is in applications, and if it's worth it. I'm thinking later on to OC....wich one of theese 2 options would be better for OC?
iulibiz is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Dual channel gives each stick of ram 6.4gb/s bandwidth instead of them both fighting over one.
weringo is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 03:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by weringo
Dual channel gives each stick of ram 6.4gb/s bandwidth instead of them both fighting over one.
6.4gb/s on paper, but no one gets that much in real life.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 04:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

It's not the RAM, you need to make sure that your motherboard supports dual channel.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 09:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Guys you still did not answer my question. IS it worth replacing it?? My mobo supports dual channel.... So is it worth it?????
iulibiz is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 09:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No, unless the sticks you want to buy are better. Any set of indentical DDR RAM sticks can run in dual-channel as long as your motherboard supports it. Socket 939 boards do.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 10:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Does any of you know something better than OCZ platinum series latencies 2-3-2-5....???? Thats what i have on right now....
__________________

iulibiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.