Upgrade/Compatability Help

Snow713

Beta member
Hello All

I am looking to upgrade my PC and am a little unsure of what I need and if it will be compatible with everything else inside my comp. I have some general knowledge but not enough to feel confident in my choices. I will start by listing my specs and then go into what i am looking to upgrade with. I purchased an Alienware maybe 5-7 Years ago and have not upgraded since I will also be inside the Alienware shell so hopefully that doesnt cause any problems.

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz
Manufacturer Intel
Speed 3.0 GHz
Number of Cores 2
Video Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
Manufacturer NVIDIA
Chipset GeForce GTX 260
Dedicated Memory 1.7 GB
Total Memory 3.5 GB
Memory 4.1 GB
Operating System Microsoft Windows 7 Professional Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit
Service Pack 1
Size 64 Bit
Edition Professional
Display Maximum Resolution 1920 x 1080
DVD HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NP20 ATA Device
CD HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NP20 ATA Device
Drive 1 (External)
Size 931.4 GB
Free 816.7 GB
Drive 2
Size 220.9 GB
Free 22.4 GB

I am looking to upgrade Graphics, RAM and processor.

Graphics I was looking at Geforce GTX 960 2/4GB?
Ram 8/16GB
Processor , not really sure probably Intel Core i7

Any help or suggestions, maybe pointing in the right direction would be fantastic. My main concern is, will what I am looking at work with motherboard am I missing something that i should get?

On my phone so tough to really get into it but to upgrade the processor you will need to upgrade the Motherboard which will also need newer ram, duel core duo most likely has the DDR2 ram and the I5-I7 chips will have DDR3 or DDR4 ram so your basically looking at a new build to upgrade what you want.