Upgrade Compaq Presario SR1316NX - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2006, 02:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Socket 754, so no dual channel. Slick_Tech15's advice is good advice.

The CoolerMaster PSU he recommended will be plenty of power for your system.

After you get all of that done, you may want to look into getting a full-fledged CPU. The Sempron you have is basically a gutted version (with 1/4 the onboard cache). You can get an OEM Athlon 3400+ Newcastle for $147, or $156 with different stepping.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 02:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

aaviel, your mobo doesn't support dual channel since you have a socket 754 mobo. any 1GB (preferably non-generic) stick of ram will do. try to match it with the timings of your current 512mb ram stick. run cpu-z and it will tell you the timings of your ram. i would suggest the following powersupply.

FSP fortron 450watt PSU $51
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 07:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Okay, thanks for all the help guys.

I don't think I am going to upgrade my processor though, maybe I will just wait a few more months and upgrade my whole motherboard. That way I won't have to worry about going to s939 later on down the road if I just buy a better s754 processor.
__________________

Aaviel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.