Upgrade for ATI Radeon 4300 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2011, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 15
Default Upgrade for ATI Radeon 4300

hello guys

I mentioned in another thread that I have a premade "gaming machine" that I found to be less than desirable and I hope maybe I can get the advice here to make the right choice when buying a couple of upgrades

first off it has inside it an ATI radeon 4300 which is not ideal and im suffering a little with framerates and general performance whilst gaming, I currently have 4GB or ram and an AMD phenon X 4 processor

im quite happy with the amount of ram (although im curious, with DDR2 is it possible to get a couple of 4GB sticks?) and I think a quadcore should be good enough for running most current games, but would like to know if there is a suitable not massivley expensive GPU that could be bought to replace my Radeon?

im making a new build also but that will take some time to get all the componants together, so an adequae upgrade for the Radeon would be great to keep me going in the meantime



thanks for your patience with my increasingly silly questions

Regards

Whelk
__________________

Whelkmaster is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Upgrade for ATI Radeon 4300

your budget?
will your power supply unit be able to handle the extra load?

4gb sticks of ddr2 is quite expensive, you are probably better off getting 2 sets of 2x2gb sticks. that is, if your motherboard has four dimm slots.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 04-03-2011, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Upgrade for ATI Radeon 4300

ah right yes Budget, well i was hoping to keep it under £100

as regards the RAM i have 2 DIMM slots on the motherboard so thats why I was thinking 4GB sticks, but I think my issues have more to do with the appalling graphics card than the ram so may just keep it at the current 4GB

aslo my power supply is currently 450W
Whelkmaster is offline  
Old 04-03-2011, 05:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Re: Upgrade for ATI Radeon 4300

I just bought me this card: Newegg.com - XFX HD-577A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

I been playing Dead Space 2 and Home Front on max settings w/o issues. With your current specs this card would run perfect, but maybe others have suggestions as well.
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 04-03-2011, 07:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Upgrade for ATI Radeon 4300

ok thanks for that suggestion, found this on a UK site

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1gb-x...dp-single-slot


looks pretty nice so will probarbly go for it, thanks for the help
Whelkmaster is offline  
Old 04-03-2011, 03:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Re: Upgrade for ATI Radeon 4300

No problem, glad to help.
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Link DGL 4300 set up? jmy2469 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 04-18-2008 08:18 PM
Dgl-4300 Snake-Eyes Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 03-25-2007 09:25 PM
D-link DGL 4300 cikrum New Technology and Products 11 06-27-2006 10:44 PM
Looking to upgrade to the RADEON X800 Pro... need to know if comp can handle it. John_Clark System Upgrades 6 09-16-2005 03:30 PM
Radeon 9600 256MB...worth the upgrade? xraider5 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 06-18-2004 09:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.