upgrade amd triple core to quad core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2009, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
Default upgrade amd triple core to quad core

I watched a video on youtube about how u can upgrade a triple core to a quad core and i was wondering if anyone has done it or if it works. here is the video

this is what i have in my comp.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

thanks
__________________

mastapanda82 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: upgrade amd triple core to quad core

It can be done. The problem is that most of the time the 4th core is very unstable which is why it was disabled in the first place.

Sometimes they will not even boot and sometimes they just limit your ability to overclock.

Every once in a while you get lucky and have a full functioning 4th core.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-11-2009, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: upgrade amd triple core to quad core

I had a give and take with mine. I have a pretty nice overclocking chip, but unlocking the 4th core, even at stock speeds, doesn't work. Freezes during boot.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
core 2 quad or duo???? bonga System Upgrades 12 03-25-2009 06:46 PM
problems with Athlon quad core peterwitheridge Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-29-2008 10:47 PM
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9100 & Core 2 Duo E8100 Prototype New Technology and Products 4 08-23-2008 12:25 PM
Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-16-2008 02:43 AM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.