Is this an upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2010, 01:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Is this an upgrade?

So I have a computer of my moms that is not being used frequently or for anything but Internet and Itunes.

It's a Acer T180 with an Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4Gz, AM2), OEM board, and 1GB of PC5300 DDR2

I want to heart transplant it with my...

Sempron 3000+ (1.8Gz, 754s), OEM board, and 2GB of PC3200 DDR


Without spending a single cent, for now, is the heart transplant going to show any performance improvement.

Basically is it a good free swap or should I just stay with the Sempron till I buy a new board upgrade?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Is this an upgrade?

It would be a downgrade. While the Acer only has 1GB of RAM, the 3800 is a much better chip than your Sempron 3000.

The Acer T180 can handle up to 4GB of RAM and Athlon 64 x2 CPU's. You might do better putting a little into it and using it for now. $60 would get you this:
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Brisbane 2.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor ADO5600IAA5DO - Processors - Desktops

$20 would get you another gig of RAM:
Newegg.com - Rendition by Crucial 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model RM12864AA800

It only has a 250W PSU, but you could swap your current CPU if need be.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 01:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Is this an upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
It would be a downgrade. While the Acer only has 1GB of RAM, the 3800 is a much better chip than your Sempron 3000.

The Acer T180 can handle up to 4GB of RAM and Athlon 64 x2 CPU's. You might do better putting a little into it and using it for now. $60 would get you this:
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Brisbane 2.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor ADO5600IAA5DO - Processors - Desktops

$20 would get you another gig of RAM:
Newegg.com - Rendition by Crucial 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model RM12864AA800

It only has a 250W PSU, but you could swap your current CPU if need be.
Wait, wait, wait. Sorry Let me clarify I want to put the Acer heart into my emachine. I want to keep everything else in my emachine. I would put the athlon in my emachine and keep everything else too. My Geforce 210, my 480w psu, etc.

The acer would get the sempron and board.

So what your saying is the acer athlon with 1gb of ram is better than the sempron with 2 right?

Im ugrading mine and the acer gets the scraps because it doesnt need the power.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 02:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Is this an upgrade?

Oh, OK. Gotcha. Yeah, that is better.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 02:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Is this an upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Oh, OK. Gotcha. Yeah, that is better.
Thanks trotter and good directions on my next upgrade ++++
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giveaway of the Day - System Upgrade Utilities 2010 (English Version) Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-21-2010 08:15 AM
a little upgrade help Fulcrum System Upgrades 26 06-22-2009 04:15 AM
Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel? M4A1 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-10-2009 12:07 AM
Vista Upgrade Issues aeroplane22 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-20-2008 08:45 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.