upgarding my old alienware's mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2005, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default upgarding my old alienware's mobo

howdy! i have a 2 and a half year old alienware computer and i want to bring it up to the current standard by replacing the motherboard (and eventually the GPU). my computer only has an AGP slot and no pci express slots. seeing as me alienware scored 1200 on 3dmark05 it is time to upgrade. my question is can i simply replace my motherboard (by swapping it) and not have any problems? i'm wondering because the computer says it's equipped with hyper-threading and i dont wany to disrupt my computer's functioning.
P.S. my comupter says the prossesor is a pentium 4, shat kind of slot setup will I need?
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

Depends on just swapping it out are you familiar with computers " Inside them". IF ou want you can replace the motherboard but If you are gonna switch the motherboad get it off of newegg
__________________

KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Alienware, you can PROBABLY switch out the mobo just by unscrewing it. Look inside your case and see if the motherboard is like glued or something, if its not, then you can switch it out.

I take it you're getting a whole new PC, and just keeping the case? If so, then tell us and we'll help you design a PC is you need one.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 11:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

actually i already built a new computer. i just want to get a new mobo and one of those new Radeon cards to upgrade my aging mobo.
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 12:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

How can you build a computer without a Motherboard? Or do you mean you've designed one or bought the parts?
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

i have designed, build and played one new computer, that is now using it's motherboard. lets call that computer A. now i have a pre-existing alienware computer, lets call that computer B. computer B is getting old and i want to replace its motherboard. this has nothing to do with computer A, which is already built.
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.