Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2014, 11:01 PM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

If you just want something cheap that will work, Cooler Master 212 EVO.

THat's the problem with pre-builts and why people should avoid them at all costs. Good thing for you, the cables are the same just the connector is proprietary. You just need to find out what 2 cables do what. For instance, 2 cables will be the power switch. If you don't mind taking all the cables out of the plastic connector you can do trial and error and find the right two to turn your PC on. Or you can just use a flathead screwdriver and short the two pins and it'll fire right up no big.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 11:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Ordered. Is there any way I could hurt anything by doing just trial and error? And also, if I did discover which one goes where, is it possible to buy the small single connectors to connect them properly? I just have no idea what they would even be called
__________________

davidowengaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 11:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Eh not really. You just need a new case really. Easiest way to figure out what is what is go to your power button, trace cables down to plastic piece, pull cables out of plastic piece then plug into the board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 12:03 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Ok. Last question(s) before bed. There is a very small 4 pin connector that was plugged into what said wlan led, a 19 pin connector that was plugged into what said usb 30, and two very think black cables that have round gold ends that seem to me like they might be grounds that I have nowhere to attach on the new mobo. All of these had connectors on the old one.

Are these necessary? And how would I go about hooking them up?
davidowengaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 12:15 AM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Can you snag some pictures and their relevant place on the old board?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 09:35 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

I tried to upload here but rather than chop the pics to pieces to make them fit I uploaded them here Computer - Album - TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting

Sorry for all the trouble. You have no idea how much I really appreciate the help. I'm pretty lost here.
davidowengaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 09:41 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

The post is waiting for approval but pics are on their way.

In the meantime, is there a way to order attachments for the front panel cables so that I can plug them in normal and keep them a bit more organized after I figure out what goes where?
davidowengaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:28 AM   #28 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Ok the blue connector is USB3, it goes in the USB3 slot. Looks like you have the rest of the connectors already in place. The FP connector looks normal and looks like it should plug right in to the new one on the Asus board. As to the gold connectors those go to built in wireless on the old board. You can't use that on the new board. They plug in to that daughter board with is an mPCI-E based wireless card. They are the antenna cables. The white plug also goes to that and can't be used.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:39 AM   #29 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

The wlan seems to be a usb network connection.

As for your front panel you may get awy with using extension cables, and you only need to connect the pwr (power) and rst (reset) cables.
Phobya Front Panel Extension Cable Kit - 300mm (87487) - FrozenCPU.com
Is a god example.

Don't worry about asking too many questions.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:47 AM   #30 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
The wlan seems to be a usb network connection.

As for your front panel you may get awy with using extension cables, and you only need to connect the pwr (power) and rst (reset) cables.
Phobya Front Panel Extension Cable Kit - 300mm (87487) - FrozenCPU.com
Is a god example.

Don't worry about asking too many questions.
Those extensions are a good call. Didn't even think about it as I just hack the FP up on prebuilt cases with no big deal.

WLAN is mPCI-E. It's under the first PCI-E slot on the motherboard. The white connector should be WOL.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Video Card/power Supply: Tower Question smithy928 System Upgrades 2 09-03-2009 02:13 PM
Question on Video card for 250W power supply Dell Stuio Slim Ryman526 System Upgrades 9 02-10-2009 02:35 PM
750 watt power supply vs. 1000 watt power supply Greenplantseed New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-13-2006 11:48 AM
Video Card and Power supply help lkj098 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-20-2005 11:19 PM
video card and power supply question syusuke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-14-2004 05:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.