Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2014, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Default Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Hello, I am updating a stock HP Pavilion HPE h9-1130 Phoenix Desktop.

I have purchased a GTX 770 (4gb) and an XFX 750w psu. I installed both and when I go to boot my computer, all it does is stay at the blue hp screen and say "Press esc to access the startup menu" but when I press esc it just takes me to a black screen listing my system specs.

The motherboard in this unit is an M3970AM-HP (Angelica) and the latest bios update for this motherboard was in april of 2012. Is the bios the issue here?

If so then do you have a recommendation for a motherboard that would work well with the GTX 770 and the FX-8120 cpu? I've never replaced a motherboard and honestly I'm a bit scared to do so.

The full specs of the pc I have are here HP Pavilion HPE h9-1130 Phoenix Desktop PC Product Specifications | HP« Support

If I put the old stock HD 7670 back in, the pc boots fine. I have already uninstalled all of the video drivers for that card so I'm a bit lost here. I read that it may be the motherboard and I just want to confirm that.

I apologize if this is in the wrong section. This is my first time posting. If it is, please let me know where to post this and I'll copy it to the correct section.

I really appreciate any help
__________________

davidowengaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Hmm.... If the old GPU 750 works fine - but the new 770 GPU causes a blue screen boot screen , then the 770 is the cause by simple deduction. Not sure why? Try booting to a safe screen - depending on the MOBO you push F5 or another key before the windows screen starts. ... then check for drivers ( either the old one that you thought you removed or the new drivers). You mention removing old drivers so I assume you put in the new Nvidia drivers. Post what drivers you fine. Also sometimes it is difficult to upgrade name brand machines as they will put their software in the machines, etc at factory that causes difficulties - so maybe that is the issue.
__________________

acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 10:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Before you do what acerinpa say, reset your CMOS using the jumpers.. Then boot as per above.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 10:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,322
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Guys he isn't booting, only posting. Since the board obviously recognizes the card do what P says. If you can't find the jumpers then do it the hard way by unplugging your PC then taking the CMOS battery out for a good 10 minutes.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 10:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Thanks for the quick replies guys! I appreciate the help. I'm at work right now, but I will try that as soon as I get home. I've never replaced anything in a computer before so I'm a bit of a newbie. I'll have to look up how to reset the cmos using the jumpers or even where the cmos battery is. You guys are definitely providing some much needed suggestions. I felt pretty lost when it wouldn't get past posting.

Also, I don't know how to put in the new nvidia drivers without the card in the computer. I tried and it wouldn't let me.

The machine boots fine with the hd 7670 in there. It just has the basic vga under video devices.

Sorry if my terminology is horrible.
davidowengaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,322
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Battery is right there.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (29.3 KB, 2 views)
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 01:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Hmm.. wow - obviously I need to get some sleep - I read he was replacing the old 750 gpu with a new 770 - my error - totally wrong . Dam this Prednisone make s me NUTZ as I don't sleep well !! Yes - first the CMOS as PP and Patron suggests.
acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

I took the cmos battery out and left it out for 10 minutes. Still stuck at the blue hp screen. Same thing if I hit esc it takes me to a black screen and tells me my system specs.

Is it because I don't have the nvidia drivers installed? When I try to install them from the disc it won't let me because the card isn't inserted.

Sorry for the newbie questions. I appreciate all the help guys.
davidowengaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 08:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,322
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

Has nothing to do with drivers. If that didn't work then it's obvious the hardware is proprietary and you'll need a new motherboard to use your new card.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 09:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Default Re: Updating Video Card and Power Supply. Motherboard question

I called evga and the second guy I spoke to said the same thing. The first just hung up on me after I waited on hold. I've read a few people saying that the evga cards had the same issue for them and they returned them and purchased gigabyte and they worked fine. Is that possible?

I read that someone else said the 770's are lacking in backwards compatibility and they purchased a 780 and it worked fine.

I would just love to avoid replacing the motherboard if I can... never done it before. But if I have to, what would you guys recommend? I would like to stay under $100 if possible.

Edit: I was looking at the MSI 970a-g26

Would that work fine for my fx-8120 and gtx 770?

Also... any tips for replacing a motherboard? xD
__________________

davidowengaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Video Card/power Supply: Tower Question smithy928 System Upgrades 2 09-03-2009 02:13 PM
Question on Video card for 250W power supply Dell Stuio Slim Ryman526 System Upgrades 9 02-10-2009 02:35 PM
750 watt power supply vs. 1000 watt power supply Greenplantseed New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-13-2006 11:48 AM
Video Card and Power supply help lkj098 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-20-2005 11:19 PM
video card and power supply question syusuke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-14-2004 05:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.