Updating several machines - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2011, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Default Updating several machines

I suspected that my Dell Optiplex needed a new hard drive. The reason I suspected this was that even though there was very little data on the hard drive, there was very little available space. It is an 80 Gb hard drive, and no matter how much I deleted I would get error messages saying there was only a few Mb of unused disk space. If my problem is not the hard drive, what else could it be?

Anyway, I made an image of the hard drive, then opened it up to replace it. But the connectors are different from any Iíve seen. I guess I just need to order the very same hard drive, but I wanted to make sure the hard drive is the problem.

Anyway, the drive is Western Digital SATA. Do I go to Western Digital website and find out the specs?
__________________

bluespiano is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Western Digital hard drive

You don't need to order an identical hard drive, just one with the same capacity (or more, since you probably can't buy 80GB ones nowadays).

Quote:
Anyway, the drive is Western Digital SATA
If it's SATA then how can the connectors be different from any you've seen?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Western Digital hard drive

How many threads do you need to start about the same computer? In your other thread you said you already replaced the hard drive. What is the real issue\problem here?
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 06:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Default Adding memory

I have a Dell Optiplex computer with 256 Mb of memory. It runs really slow and will not run some software, such as a printer driver. I have other Dell Optiplex computers with 1 Gb of memory and they run fine. Does it follow that a memory upgrade would help the first computer run better? If so, what memory sticks do I need to buy?
bluespiano is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Adding memory

What are the specs of this machine? Such as motherboard, CPU, etc.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 06:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Western Digital hard drive

I am not talking about the same computer.
bluespiano is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Western Digital hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluespiano View Post
I am not talking about the same computer.
Then you need to be very CLEAR on what you are talking about and explain it. Cause from what I see you first started a topic about having a mchine that came with no hard drive and Windows 98. Now you are saying you have the same make and model machine with a low GB hard drive.

Be VERY specific about what you are asking and talking about and dont be so vague. We cant help you if you do not give us information. Giving as little information as possible only leads to confusion, as it already has, and will only get you into trouble.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 07:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Western Digital hard drive

You're telling me to be very clear and specific. Another forum manager combined five computers into one thread, leading to confusion. I find this hard to work with. I don't see the harm of putting different issues in different threads.
bluespiano is offline  
Old 09-30-2011, 02:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Updating several machines

Give us the information we require and we will help you. Otherwise, we get confused with little information. Not that it is in the same thread.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 University machines need OS X 5.6 NightSurge Apple and Mac 3 02-12-2009 02:06 PM
SGI Machines. What to do? TheHerk New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-29-2007 07:57 PM
Server machines?? gloomer System Upgrades 1 11-30-2006 03:50 PM
checking out old machines rookie1010 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 04-27-2004 10:56 AM
XP on two machines? Nightman Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-05-2003 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.