Updating the ram and graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2013, 01:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Updating the ram and graphics card

Hello there,
I have an Acer Aspire AG3760 which i bought in august 2010. It has 2gb ram. Not quite sure what graphics card i have but i can tell that i need a better one. I play Fifa Manager 2012 but am unable to watch the actual matches due to my computer lacking the ram and graphics. Please can anyone advise on what sort of graphic card and ram i would need to play this game fully and also games like The sims, sim city etc. only really play simulation games but they seem to lag a lot and freeze.

Is it worth upgrading my pc in any way that will help me play these games or is it better to buy a brand new pc (which i dont really want to do)

Please can someone advise on the above.
__________________

Ronnyronron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Updating the ram and graphics card

Could you list more information about your system since I couldn't find much info on it. Also would be good to know the brand/wattage of the power supply too.

The only things I found is that it can probably support max 4GB ddr2 ram. I think meaning 4x1GB sticks.

Processor is probably a Celeron 450, 2.2GHz LGA 775

From looking at the bits of info that I found, IMO it would be better to get a new pc.
__________________

brinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Updating the ram and graphics card

Download this => http://www.alexnolan.net/software/SysSpec.exe
Tell us what it says.

Brinks is right about the processor and RAM.

Minimum Requirements for FIFA Manager 2012:
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.4 GHz or equivalent = Fail
RAM: 1GB = Pass
GPU: ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128MB or higher, NVIDIA GeForce 6600 256MB or higher, must support Shader Model 2.0 or higher = We'll see after system scan
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default Re: Updating the ram and graphics card

Cheers for the advice. I will have to download it tomorow as i only have a dongle on the pc and have already used my daily amount of mb's
Ronnyronron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Updating the ram and graphics card

Easier thing to do. We need the sub-model. There should be an extra group of numbers and letters after AG3760. For instance, Acer Aspire AG3760 E700 or M3600 ect. That number will give us your exact system specs and we can tell you exactly what your PC has.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.