updating my old hp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2009, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default updating my old hp

k what i have is a 2004 hp pavilion a750y

its running a p4 2.8ghz with 520 HT

1gb of ram

128mb ddr ati radeon x300se

XP Pro

here is my question

what would it take to get this computer to play and edit 1080p video? i have used this machine for years and its been excellent.

but the new hd video just lags on it. what would it take? whats your opinion?
__________________

stratigicsniper is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: updating my old hp

It depends, how serious is your editing work? E.g. are you constantly working with massive, hi-quality video files? Or is it more just short segments of the stuff every now and then?

Depending on your answer to that, you could knock something simple together for 600-700 dollars easy.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: updating my old hp

so my cpu is completely obsolete? im doing small videos 720p 60fps and 1080p 30fps both in h.264 what could i get to stop the lagging for under 300?
stratigicsniper is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: updating my old hp

You could try looking around for a second hand graphics card. The one you have right now is not that great.
Also, another stick of RAM would definitely help. You'll want to look for a 1Gb DDR 400Mhz stick.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question About Updating a Site for Someone browserdaily Programming 12 07-18-2009 11:41 AM
Updating Windows 2000 File System Poemaster Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-24-2008 08:20 PM
Updating graphics card driver properly. Help! general.rule Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-25-2008 08:55 PM
Updating Sytem, need suggestions dennykyser New Systems | Building and Buying 7 02-26-2008 12:53 PM
Updating Bios of a P5B Sydzy Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-15-2007 01:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.