Updating Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2010, 05:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default Updating Graphics Card

Hey all!

I have a relatively older computer, an Intel Pentium D 2.8 Ghz, now with 3 GB of RAM.

I'm just trying to get a gaming card that will allow me to use the computer for another year or so, and I was looking at this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121353. However, it mentions that this is a PCI Express 2.0, and my computer only supports PCI Express 1.0.

Are these cards backwards compatible, and would it be worth spending $95 to upgrade from my current card, (which is a 7600 GT)?

One other thing. I only have the power supply that came with the computer- will this be enough to handle that card, or would I need to upgrade that as well?
__________________

Koravel34 is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Updating Graphics Card

First of all, how many watts is your power supply and what manufacturer? My guess is FSP group.

As I understand it, PCI E is backwards compatible so a 5770 or a 5750 is a good choice.
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Updating Graphics Card

That card should be an upgrade (it supports DX10, CUDA, and newer technologies than the 7600GT). PCIe 2 cards will work in a PCIe 1 slot, so that should not be an issue. I would recommend something from the ATi Radeon HD5000 lineup as they all support DirectX 11 and work very well.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Updating Graphics Card

All right.

One other question. For the same price, there is another card with 512 MB of memory, but its DDR5, whereas this one is DDR3 with 1 GB. Which would be better?

Newegg.com - PNY VCGGT2405G5XEB GeForce GT 240 512MB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

(I really dislike Radeon cards, I've had nothing but trouble with them. Maybe just a string of bad luck.)
Koravel34 is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Updating Graphics Card

Yes, you have had some bad luck... plus ATI wasn't that great with drivers. that's changed now. Just make sure that uninstall any Nvidia graphics drivers before you install a Radeon card to prevent conflicts.

Here's a card for the same price that has a lifetime warranty. It has 512MB of DDR3, but the GPU will eat the 240 for lunch:
Newegg.com - VisionTek 900268 Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Updating Graphics Card

I just saw this link underneath that one. Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100245DDR5L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

Same memory, same card, same price, but it has DDR5.

Are either of these cards going to require upgrading the default power supply? I believe its 400W, but I'm not certain. How would I check that?
Koravel34 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 12:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Updating Graphics Card

Sapphire = two year warranty. VisionTek = lifetime warranty. There's not a noticeable difference between GDDR3 and GDDR5 unless you are playing something really strenuous graphic-wise. Even then it will only be a few frames per second.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating graphics card driver properly. Help! general.rule Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-25-2008 08:55 PM
Updating Graphics Card...Advice? Shiinji System Upgrades 10 02-06-2008 03:44 PM
Updating Graphics Card AdamDay Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-20-2007 10:59 AM
really need help for updating my graphics card... yandaoben Microsoft Windows and Software 2 11-24-2004 02:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.