unknown quantity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2007, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 31
Default unknown quantity

hi good people, could i please have a little advice. i have just acquired an abit av8 motherboard, second user but i have no reason to believe that it's not functional. according to the abit website it supports all the likely candidates that i can afford in terms of cpu's with the latest bios flash (ver. 27)
as i have never been in this position before, my question is this:
if i buy, say a 4000+ san diego?, will it run even if the bios is not updated to recognize its full potential? in other words able to get going and then update the bios if necessary? or! am i going to have to borrow or buy a lower spec chip first? i have no documentation.
i bought it at the right price and 'cos it's agp..i am not ready to ditch my 850pe yet, not to mention a gig of corsair LL.
any experienced amd men?...most of you i would guess
thanks in advance
__________________

bazzer55 is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 31
Default

....well, 20 people have had a look and declined to offer an opinion! maybe this is not such an easy question as i thought..
...anybody?
__________________

bazzer55 is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 08:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it should work fine, the only potential issues with s939 processor/board compatibility are related to X2 processors (some boards need a BIOS flash to recognise both cores and in those cases yes the processor will still work for the BIOS flash).
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 11:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default

939 Athlon fx's are really cheap compared to before mabye u wanna get one of those but 4000+ should be enough
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 31
Default

thanks gents for your assistance; i feel better about my project now. the whole exercise is to determine, at the lowest cost, whether the amd64 will drive my 850pe more efficiently than my old northwood 3.2. i feel that i am not getting the frame rates on my type of game; at the moment its oblivion; that i should be.

in the uk, i can get a new 4000+ for £50 delivered but fx's will have to wait; they are too dear as usual in england!
i have to go try to find the 939 clips for my gigabyte g-power cooler that i intend to pirate for the build...thanks again
bazzer55 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.