Under 1000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2011, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Silverlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 157
Default Under 1000

Hi all,

Building a new PC as mine is 5 years old and failing me Looking at realy playing skyrim on it as well as normal working with vms and such, can you give me your opinion please?

Case
FRACTAL DESIGN R3 - BLACK PEARL CASE


Processor (CPU)
AMD PHENOM II X2 565 (3.40GHz/6MB CACHE/AM3) - BLACK EDITION


Motherboard
ASUS M4N98TD EVO: DDR3, 2-Way SLI, SATA 3.0GB/s


Memory (RAM)
8GB KINGSTON HYPER-X GENESIS DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (2 x 4GB KIT)


Graphics Card
1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 560 - DVI,HDMI,VGA - 3D Vision Ready


2nd Graphics Card
1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 560 - DVI,HDMI,VGA - 3D Vision Ready


Memory - 1st Hard Disk
500GB SERIAL ATA 3-Gb/s HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB CACHE (7,200rpm)


1st DVD/BLU-RAY Drive
24x DUAL LAYER DVD WRITER R/RW/RAM


Power Supply
CORSAIR 650W TX SERIES (TX650) 80+ ULTRA QUIET PSU (72)


Processor Cooling
COOLIT ECO II C240 A.L.C (ADVANCED LIQUID COOLER) (99)


Sound Card
ONBOARD 8 CHANNEL (7.1) HIGH DEF AUDIO (AS STANDARD)
__________________

__________________
Have I been helpful? Consider giving me a Kudos

Silverlord is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 12:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Under 1000

Is this an overclockers build?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Under 1000

Just a dual core? While it may unlock to a tri or quad there is no guarantee. I would go with a Phenom II X4 right off the bat.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-17-2011, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Under 1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Just a dual core? While it may unlock to a tri or quad there is no guarantee. I would go with a Phenom II X4 right off the bat.
Agreed.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-18-2011, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Under 1000

If this is the PSU you're talking about then it won't work. All of the GTX560 cards I have seen require 2x PCI-E connectors, if you're going to SLI you need x4 and that PSU only has x2.
Also, make sure the PSU you get can handle the power consumption you're asking from it.
Roark is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 06:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Under 1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roark View Post
If this is the PSU you're talking about then it won't work. All of the GTX560 cards I have seen require 2x PCI-E connectors, if you're going to SLI you need x4 and that PSU only has x2.
Also, make sure the PSU you get can handle the power consumption you're asking from it.
That's not the same PSU, but you're still right.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 04:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Silverlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 157
Default Re: Under 1000

Ok So I have revisited the build as suggested, any better?



Case
FRACTAL DESIGN R3 - BLACK PEARL CASE


Processor (CPU)
AMD PHENOM II X6 1090T (3.20GHz/9MB CACHE) - BLACK EDITION


Motherboard
ASUS M5A99X EVO:USB 3.0, SATA 6.0Gb/s, Quad CrossFireX™/SLI™


Memory (RAM)
8GB KINGSTON HYPER-X GENESIS DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (2 x 4GB KIT)


Graphics Card
1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 560 - DVI,HDMI,VGA - 3D Vision Ready


2nd Graphics Card
1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 560 - DVI,HDMI,VGA - 3D Vision Ready


Memory - 1st Hard Disk
500GB SERIAL ATA 3-Gb/s HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB CACHE (7,200rpm)


1st DVD/BLU-RAY Drive
24x DUAL LAYER DVD WRITER R/RW/RAM


Power Supply
CORSAIR 750W TX SERIES (TX750) 80+ ULTRA QUIET PSU (86)


Processor Cooling
COOLIT ECO II C240 A.L.C (ADVANCED LIQUID COOLER) (99)
__________________
Have I been helpful? Consider giving me a Kudos

Silverlord is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 10:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Under 1000

Nice case. I dislike doors on a case but it is down to personal preference.

Much better CPU. Be sure to get into Folding once you are up and running.

Very nice mobo, RAM, and PSU.

Dual 560's. yep, you really need to Fold.

What brand hard drive?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 11:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Silverlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 157
Default Re: Under 1000

I just need it to be quite! My old PC is so loud, can hear it downstairs I figure water cooling and a door :P

I believe it is a Maxtor brand.

Debating if to trade out the Nvidia cards for 2 2GB AMD RADEON HD6950 - 2 DVI,HDMI,2 mDP - DX 11

They seem to give better bang for buck
__________________
Have I been helpful? Consider giving me a Kudos

Silverlord is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 12:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Under 1000

Maxtor? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Go with a Western Digital Black.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1000 i7 rig? BurningSkyline New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-21-2010 09:45 PM
1000$ rig PurpleGorilla New Systems | Building and Buying 0 07-04-2010 02:54 PM
help for a $1000 rig jordo_99 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-21-2006 02:02 PM
What would you do with £1000?? gust_nul New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-12-2006 05:44 PM
GFX Card reading as 300/1000 instead of 500/1000 diabloII Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-13-2005 03:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.