The ultimate in PC entertainment? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 06:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

get rid of the AGEIA PhysX Card its not needed save some money
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 06:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Also, you'll probably need a sound card. No matter how good your system sounds, the onboard audio with always make it sound crappy.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 06:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea ditch the physx card like lonewolf said, because theres very very few games that support it. Just use that money to get a good sound card like snake-eyes said. And yes you can have two 74GB raptors in RAID 0.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 07:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Ok, I think I'll run the two raptors in RAID0.

But what do you think I should do as far as rigging the audio goes? I have 5 speakers that are connected to the sub, how would I get the audio from the sub to the PC? Is there a sound card that can receive audio from a sub?

I will take the PhysicsX card off the list, I suppose theres always a chance that Ageia could go down the pan, losing me £110.

Another question I forgot to ask, I read a review somewhere on the web that the 8800GTX uses two 24-pin adaptors from the PSU, seeing as I'm running SLi, does this mean I have to have 4 24-pin adaptors? The PSU I was planning to buy isn't on sale anymore, so I opted to go with this - http://www.xcase.co.uk/acatalog/Thermaltake_Psu_s_.html
is it enough for a big system? Can anyone make a better suggestion?

I will update the list as soon as someone gets back to me on the audio card/PSU. Cheers.
trashedteen is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 07:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

lol if the 8800GTX used two 24-pin connectors, it would be even more monstrous in size, than it already is. The 8800GTX requires two 6-pin PCI-e connectors. Since you're SLIing, you would need four 6-pin pci-e connectors.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 02:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by trashedteen
Ok, I think I'll run the two raptors in RAID0.

But what do you think I should do as far as rigging the audio goes? I have 5 speakers that are connected to the sub, how would I get the audio from the sub to the PC? Is there a sound card that can receive audio from a sub?

I will take the PhysicsX card off the list, I suppose theres always a chance that Ageia could go down the pan, losing me £110.

Another question I forgot to ask, I read a review somewhere on the web that the 8800GTX uses two 24-pin adaptors from the PSU, seeing as I'm running SLi, does this mean I have to have 4 24-pin adaptors? The PSU I was planning to buy isn't on sale anymore, so I opted to go with this - http://www.xcase.co.uk/acatalog/Thermaltake_Psu_s_.html
is it enough for a big system? Can anyone make a better suggestion?

I will update the list as soon as someone gets back to me on the audio card/PSU. Cheers.
RAID on raptors:
Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Once everything (and I mean everything) in your PC can't be upgraded any further than get a Raptor. Until then I will not recommended them.

The 3Gb/s only benefit the user for burst speeds. HD don't maintain the 1.5 from SATA I.

Now for HDTACH:
2 74GB raptors in RAID0:


I think this is 2x 250GB Seagate drives in RAID0


Single 36GB raptor:


Single 74GB Raptor:


Basically these show the raptors having faster access times for reading lots of small files where as a large file would be faster on a RAID array or a single larger hard drive (just). Go for what you want but as I said I think they are a waste of money.

You are going to need either this: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CA-010-TG
Or this with a PCIE adaptor:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CA-029-EN


there is also these:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CA-030-EN

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CA-000-BG

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CA-011-TG


Sound cards are always nice and well worth the money.
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks Trifid, very informative but the message I got from the series of graphs is that 2 raptors in RADI0 are no faster at loading big files than a single HDD however, the two raptors are faster at loading small files, such as the booting of windows.

If thats the case, then surely its beneficial to run the raptors for the fast load speeds of the OS and for instance, games? I may be totally wrong so correct me if I am.

I think I will go with the Enermax Galaxy 850W (3rd link?), its seems pretty future-proof, will I need the PCI-E adaptors though?

Does anyone have any more information on that sound card, I need something that will link my Sub to my PC, any ideas? I'll update the list as soon as someone gets back to me, thanks.
trashedteen is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 08:20 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Hmmm, this post seems to have stagnated...

Does no one know where I would find an audio card which I can connect to the sub-woofer?
trashedteen is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 02:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Has this thread been closed or something?
trashedteen is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 03:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Ask your sound card question in the sound section. You will get a better answer there.

As long as the sub has a 3.5mm connection it can be connected.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.