Type of ram - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2006, 09:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I cannot have a 1gig and my other 512?
__________________

quekumber is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

ah, after looking at hp.com... i see...****...why is it that my motherboard cannot have more memory?
__________________

quekumber is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Here is a link to the specs.
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...cname=bph07571

It says there is a max of 1GB supported. If you want to you could get a 1GB stick and take out all of the other RAM, or if you have a 512MB stick, just get another 512MB stick.

It cant have more memory cuz its has a POS mobo.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

right... yeah i was there, why can i not have more though? whats with the motherboard? I have a spare motherboard, is there a possibility that i can put this motherboard instead? Or do you think it is not worth it?

Thanks
quekumber is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

where can I check the maximum memory the motherboard can hold...you know....just in case my friend upgraded the motherboard too. And while i am on the subject of updating my computer, what do you think of this?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&Sku=S197-1930
or
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&Sku=C911-1902

which one is better?

Thank you guys so much, I really appreciate it.
quekumber is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 04:29 AM   #16 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

get either CPUZ or everest and they will tell you all about your computer, and everything you would probably want to know
royalk4 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:07 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by royalk4
get either CPUZ or everest and they will tell you all about your computer, and everything you would probably want to know

On what subject are you talking about? I have never heard of those brands.
__________________

quekumber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.