Two Monitors. One Question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2006, 02:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Two Monitors. One Question.

I have GTA San Andreas for the computer. I also am thinking about upgrading from my 7 year old CRT monitor. Question is this.

Say I get a niiiiiice widescreen flat panel LCD monitor. But what if I also got a little 15 inch flat panel typical Dell monitor as well. Could I set it up so the 15 inch Dell monitor displays my desktop + buddy list/IMs, while the wide screen plays GTA? That way, I don't have to pause the game and hit the windows key to go to my desktop every so often to answer IMs? Would I need two video cards for that, or perhaps something stronger than a 6600 256mb?
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

If it is possible, which I think it is (not sure though), It depends on your gfx card.
__________________

Kowmo is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 05:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

yes it is possible... I do it now for my 2 18" LCD's. I had to play the game in window mode and not in full screen. This way I just expanded out the window to the size I want and still have Tech-Forums up on the other monitor. It just depends on the game in which you are trying to do that. Some won't let you play in window mode. But I do have an issue with it... Once in the game, you still have to use the window key to get out of the game and move your mouse off, onto the other screen.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Oh you have to be in windows mode, cause i put all my crap on the other side, and i play BF2. But everytime i click on the other side in minmizes anyways .
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

yeah its easy, but don't expect all your games to like it much, quite a few will screwup or even crash.

A much better option is to get a cheap laptop and just pop it on your desk next to your keyboard.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

its pretty easy to set up dual monitors if your card supports it. i have dualview right now. echoing the other guys though, it probably won't help that much because most games will minimise when you click on the other screen
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Jby
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 54
Default

It can be done and I do it. Find a graphics card that supports it and the drivers and software provided will help you set it up and you can select which programs to show on which screen.
__________________

Jby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.