Two graphics cards? >new at computers< - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2009, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Question Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

I just bought a new desktop computer, loads of RAM, but for some reason is a bit laggy when playing even the least graphics-demanding games.

Someone suggested it could be the graphics card.
I have the graphics card from my old computer, and see a slot for it on the motherboard. The graphics card on my new computer is intergrated.

Could I put my old graphics card in?
If I could, would the two cards clash?
Is the graphics card the actual solution to the lag?

:/
__________________

Tik172 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

Specs are definitely required, so we know whether they're compatible. But it is certainly possible.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

Where could I find the specs you need to know?
Tik172 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tik172 View Post
Where could I find the specs you need to know?
Well, do you know the model of the computer? (so I can look it up online) Or did it come with a specs sheet?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<



link.
Tik172 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tik172 View Post
Alright, I'm looking up the specs now; do you know the make+model of your ol graphics card is?

I just want to point out that it looks unlikely that you'll be able to do this.

Edit: Well, Compaq's site was useless, doesn't say what your motherboard is so I can't find any information on it, sorry.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

The link that didnt seem to work, said it is a uma Ge Fo 9100..

Crappy on board.

Which is why it laggs.. To update youre gonna have to open up the case, look for a pci-e port/slot and give the power supply tag 12V watts number.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tik172 View Post
Could I put my old graphics card in?
If I could, would the two cards clash?
Is the graphics card the actual solution to the lag?
Probably but we would need to know the make and model of your PC and either the GPU name or model of the card.

The cards wouldn't clash but you need to do a couple of things one is to set the graphics device in the BIOS the other is to get the correct the driver.

Possibly, once we know what PC you have we can find out what graphics chip it has, from there we can compare it against the card from the old PC and teell you if/how much better it will be.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

Kmote, if you click the link in Yams quoted reply, it'll show a compaq
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Two graphics cards? >new at computers<

Right you are paton. Hmmm well it seems that PC has a PCI-e 16 which is good for most modern cards. No guarantee the PSU will be up to the task, you could certainly try it but if the card requires a 6 pin power connector you are probably going to be out of luck.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New graphics card for 100 Alvin.C New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2008 06:10 PM
Looking at your Graphics Cards. KCRMYZ Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 12 12-18-2007 12:24 PM
Graphics Cards: High-end Last-Gen or Mid-End Current-Gen? westy159 System Upgrades 6 12-05-2007 12:15 AM
Graphics Cards AZNRockThis Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.