Two CPU & two graphics card MOBO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2008, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default Two CPU & two graphics card MOBO

Hi all,

I currently have two computers, both running AMD Athlon 64-bit 3400+ CPU & Gefore 7800GS! They are on a socket 939 asus a8v deluxe motherboard.

What I want to do is combine the two computers into one SUPER computer!!

Are there any motherboards that are socket 939 and will allow me to run two CPU's (not dual-core) and two graphics cards?

Thanks all,

mystikast
__________________

mystikast is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Two CPU & two graphics card MOBO

The short and simple answer?? NO. There is nothing available for your processors. If there even was, it would not be cost effective. You are better off selling them and using the money to build a new dual-cored system.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Two CPU & two graphics card MOBO

Yeaa, your hardwares dated as it is. And as far as I know they never have made dual socket 939 mobos.

Like surge said, you're MUCH better off selling your rig and building a new one from scratch. A modern day gaming computer, Intel quad core based, would run circles around that dual socket set up you wanted.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default Re: Two CPU & two graphics card MOBO

****, this is bad news. I only have about $200 right now! I can't build a new PC
mystikast is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Two CPU & two graphics card MOBO

Just save up then dude. Your CPU and RAM are going to bottleneck any new video card you'd get ha.

You're much better off selling your current rig, getting about $500-$600, and building a new rig. When ya do, come and ask us to help you configure one. You can build a very capable rig for that much.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating graphics card driver properly. Help! general.rule Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-25-2008 08:55 PM
Updating Graphics Card...Advice? Shiinji System Upgrades 10 02-06-2008 03:44 PM
Graphics card problems (?) TommyGun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-28-2007 09:53 AM
PCI-express 1.6 mobo + 2.0 Graphics card? jeller New Systems | Building and Buying 14 12-16-2007 04:05 PM
graphics card problem xargon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-28-2007 03:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.