TV Video Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2006, 08:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 112
Default TV Video Cards

Hey all,

I'm heading off to uni in just over a week, and consider using my PC monitor as a TV, so to watch terrestial Television and use a console on.

Thus, i need a Video Caption card.

Trouble is, i'm very un-familear with them, and was hoping some people could reccommend some good examples which are worth buying. My budget isn't great, looking at around £30 tops. I would appreciate it if you linked to UK websites (old post of mine with UK stores

I want it to be able to recive terrestial television and use a scart (or composite A/V RGB input).

THe more features the better, i am intersted in also having teletext, recording and remote control, but these are more toys than anything.

Just before anyone says anything, streaming TV through the internet is not an option.

Another question while i'm here, this kind of setup would require a TV licence right?

fangs2000 is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

I have a Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-150 MCE PCI Interface 1042 Tuner Card and it is by far the best TV card I've ever used. Works GREAT in Linux+MythTV and I'm sure it will work great in Windows too.

And what is a TV lisense? Why would you need one? Pay for cable, or plug an antenna in, receive a TV signal...

The General is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268

i can vouch for that hauppage tv tuner. ive got one in my rig and it works flawlessly. comes with a remote too which is really handy when ur too lazy to get out of bed in the morning and just want to watch some **** tv :-)

btw works wonderfully in winXP pro.
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Geek Squad
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788

awesome, glad it works on Pro

Are you running it in Windows PRO?
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.