Tv Tuners - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default Tv Tuners

I never really considered this till now; seeing that if I do swap my mobo that I'm not entirely limited to what I have so I'm goign to throw what ever I want in...

Anywayssss, for now.

I just got a video card and now I want a tv tuner, and I've seen cards that allow that...so I'm curious, can I add a tv tuner that doesn't neccessarily have to be part of a video card?

I haven't looked at the online stores yet. I got homework. I'm just wondering though because I'm running out of slots >_>

Though I'll check soon. I just want some feedback .
__________________

__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

A TV tuner can be added to any system. Most are through PCI.

Hauppauge is a good brand.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Hauppage WInTV-PVR, uses USB 2.0, and is far most the best I have seen (this is old model), newer ones will be twice as better.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default

i would suggest a hauppage tv-tuner PCI card rather than a USB kind. Ive got the PCI one in my rig and its flawless.

Records tv to ur computer so no need to get TiVo!
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 08:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

good thing about USB is that you can use it with Laptops and also with others PC's without hassle of plugging it out from casing.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 08:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default

thats true. i was just assuming he had a set desktop.
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 09:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

well, he had a desktop for sure, but USB card comes with external decoder when recording, whilst an internal card has to reply on the decorder chip on graphics card. pplus the one I mentioned with USB is a award winning product.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Thanks. I'll have to see how many pci slots I have left, I still haven't noted if my graphic boards uhhh grill? is taking up a slot.

EDIT: Well that's kinda uhh inconvenient. I have two PCI slots and one PCIe slot..and one small stubby looking black thingy I dunno about.

Well I only have one pci slot available because of the stupid graphics board >< *cries*. Lol




So in conclusion, I'm only entitled to USB interface because I'll be using a soundcard, it really is a waste though, just because of the physical feature of my graphics board, i lost one pci slot (that and the actualy pcie slot that my board is connected to)
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

USB = crap bandwidth = poor quality

Go for PCI or PCI-E (I don't think they make PCI-E ones yet, but with HDTV and everything, I'm sure they will be out soon)
The General is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

well, OK, USB has crap bandwidth, where do you think he'll be putting in his TV-Tuner card?

PCI remains the only solution so far unless some PCI-E slot is available more over PCI-E clot card is out in market.

Now PCI's Bandwidth (assuming he is not on very old motherboard), is if using a 32-Bit 66MHz PCI slot, maximum potential bandwidth is 266MB/s, whilst USB 2.0 comes with 480MB/s. does that makes USB card slow?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.