TV-Tuner Vista Compatible?. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2007, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default TV-Tuner Vista Compatible?.

Hello
I just installed my 4 year old TV-Tuner card in my new Vista 64 machine and it didnt work.
Now im not surprized.
Yet i just spent the last 3 hour searching the internet for information on what TV-tuner card i can purchase to get going again and i have found it very hard since there is alot of SALE SALE SALE which is hard to make sense of .

My Computer:

3Ghz pentium D
2G Ram
Vista 64

I have been useing
Windows Vista Hardware Compatibility List
to figuere out which cards are compatable.

Yet of all my searching the only compatible card with reasonable price is.
[YUAN] FALCON2 PG600-2

I also found the Leadtek WinFast TV2000 XP RM TV Tuner Video Capture Card

Which has a very similer name to some of the names listed on the Windows Vista Hardware Compatibility List you think that one will work?. I must admit my budget is pretty tight right now hence even attempting to install a 4 year old card into a Vista64 machine.

Please help me find a cheap Vista64 compatible TV-tuner card.
__________________

IDerekI is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: TV-Tuner Vista Compatible?.

The Leadtek WinFast can be ruled out with one look at the specifications seen on it at Leadtek - We make dreams a reality I've been dual booting XP along with Vista here in order to even use the tuner card installed.

It doesn't look good for the Yuan model either after seeing

OS REQUIRED Microsoft ® Windows ® XP SP1/2, Windows ® 2000 SP4, or Windows ® XP Media Center

The one model seen that is Vista certified for a pci device, YUAN FUNTV-TUN881, can be looked over at YUAN High-Tech
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: TV-Tuner Vista Compatible?.

I went out shoping today and even though most shops were not open[sunday] , non had any vista compatible tv-tuners. never mind ones that work on Vista64.
This is getting me excited, owning a TV-Tuner that atualy works on Vista64 would make me uber seeing how hard i have had to search.
I used to run my TV on FedoraCore-5.
Don't want to duelboot back to fedoracore but if i have to i will.
IDerekI is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: TV-Tuner Vista Compatible?.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IDerekI View Post
I went out shoping today and even though most shops were not open[sunday] , non had any vista compatible tv-tuners. never mind ones that work on Vista64.
This is getting me excited, owning a TV-Tuner that atualy works on Vista64 would make me uber seeing how hard i have had to search.
I used to run my TV on FedoraCore-5.
Don't want to duelboot back to fedoracore but if i have to i will.
When I had vista installed, I thought I was going to have the same problem as you with my TV Tuner. I was able to get mine to work by changing it's compatibility. Make sure you have the drivers installed, then right click on the program you run your tuner in. At the top, click the compatibility tab. Click the box next to "run this program in compatibility mode for" and pick XP. If that doesn't work, try any of the previous versions in the rare chance that one will work. If it doesn't work for you, my guess is it's the fact you're using 64 bit vista. Good luck.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista and MSI K8N Neo 2 Motherboard Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-26-2007 09:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Vista compatible FTP program sayaprayer Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-16-2007 10:33 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.