tv tuner card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2006, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
liam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to liam
Default tv tuner card

I am looking at getting a tv tuner card. I dont really waht to spend a lot on it and just want to be able to record tv onto my computer. does anyone have any suggestions on cards or software.
__________________

liam is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 12:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 195
Default

IMO Pinnacle is making very good tv-tuners.
__________________

johnyB_24 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Get a Hauppauge WinTV PVR-150.
The General is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
liam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to liam
Default

What about software for watching and recording tv?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Asus P5Q-EM
4GB G.Skill Pi Black
MSI Radeon 4850 512 MB
Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA
LG Blu-ray Drive
Acer 22" LCD
Logitech Wave Keyboard
liam is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 11:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
twopointshotdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to twopointshotdr
Thumbs up

yea man johnyB_24 is right. go with this one!! i just picked it up at compusa for like 120 bux? or so...i actually dont remember....but it comes with built in "DVR" "PVR" type options. its awesome. I use it all the time. if a show is coming on really late...or at a time i know im gonna be out with some buddies...well i just use the scheduler program that comes with it and set it and FORGET IT....hahahaha. but yea it records right to your hard drive, and different record options allow you to change quality for SPACE saving. a one hour show takes up to 1.5 GB on mine right now. pretty sweet deal! : )
__________________
My build:
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4GB TOTAL)
CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V 620W PSU (3 12v Rails)
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Western Digital Caviar 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
PNY GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3


--It's really not that complicated--
twopointshotdr is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by twopointshotdr
yea man johnyB_24 is right. go with this one!! i just picked it up at compusa for like 120 bux? or so...i actually dont remember....but it comes with built in "DVR" "PVR" type options. its awesome. I use it all the time. if a show is coming on really late...or at a time i know im gonna be out with some buddies...well i just use the scheduler program that comes with it and set it and FORGET IT....hahahaha. but yea it records right to your hard drive, and different record options allow you to change quality for SPACE saving. a one hour show takes up to 1.5 GB on mine right now. pretty sweet deal! : )
Yeah man, overpay for a TV tuner and use their proprietary software that can't compress video to it takes up a lot of space. AWESOME.

PVR-150 = $50
GBPVR = $0 www.gbpvr.com

P.S. - An our of recorded TV should take 400mb at most, not 1500mb ...
The General is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
twopointshotdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to twopointshotdr
Default

well you got me there...i can see MYSELF d/l this program....thnx for making me look dumb and the better program!! haha...
__________________
My build:
GIGABYTE GA-M57SLI-S4 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (4GB TOTAL)
CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V 620W PSU (3 12v Rails)
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Western Digital Caviar 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb
Thermaltake Armor Series Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan
PNY GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3


--It's really not that complicated--
twopointshotdr is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 03:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Yeah man, overpay for a TV tuner and use their proprietary software that can't compress video to it takes up a lot of space. AWESOME.

PVR-150 = $50
GBPVR = $0 www.gbpvr.com

P.S. - An our of recorded TV should take 400mb at most, not 1500mb ...
1. Most proprietary software does include compression...well, all that I have seen.
2. One hour of recording time takes at most 400MB? No. Obviously this depends on your compression settings, but still, no!
3. I do like your prices, though...
__________________

Vormund is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.