trying to upgrade for gaming - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2006, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default trying to upgrade for gaming

I have a computer not really meant for gaming that i got a few years ago so i want to see if i could upgrade it. I didnt have a clue what i was doing and then found out that for graphics cards i need to check what type i could use. I checked the device drivers and it said my card was in pci bus 1 so i thought i would have to use a pci card, then i ran a program called cpu-z and it said that i had agp 3.0 8x. Now i really dont know anything about this but im pretty sure they arent the same. what i have is a dell dimension 4600 that i am looking to upgrade. if anyone could tell me how to check so that i know for sure what i have and anything that could help with upgrading for gaming because it cant really run any new game well. if you need more specs let me know and ill try to put whatever you need. thanks.
__________________

Launchpad08 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 03:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Its not worth it. Upgrading any prebuilt is almost always( Lol wc) not worth it..

Save up around 1500-2000$ for a complete and Average to high end gamming computer.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

The interface for your video card is "AGP" you can look on www.newegg.com, if you're in the US.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

the thing is i dont have that much money and i wont for a while, all my money is going towards my last semester of school in january so i was just looking for any upgrades i could do to make it run better
Launchpad08 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Then it depends what specific Game you want to run and the upgradability of the model.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

well i play BFME II some and i figure no matter what i do i wont be able to get that game to run the best, but now its just so slow. my brother also plays sims 2 on it and that doesnt seem to run very well either. And how do i check upgradability (sorry i dont really know anything about this)
__________________

Launchpad08 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.