Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2011, 12:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

The clock speed (MHz/GHz) is just one of about a dozen factors of which decide the performance of a processor. A Core 2 Solo with a slower clock speed than that 3.4GHz is still going to faster, for example.

What motherboard does the machine have, btw? If it's a decent one you might be able to bump the price up a bit.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 01:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

Quote:
Originally Posted by thepinkanator95 View Post
Well I can guarantee it is in fact DDR3 RAM. I installed a lot of the components myself. I wouldn't think that the processor would kill it too much. It might be an old processor but it runs at 3.4 GHz without overclocking and I bet you could safely overclock it to about 3.8 GHz. This computer runs a pretty fast as it is and with a drive format it will run even faster. I have done some research myself and I found computers with 2.8 GHz single core for about $300. They have the same quality graphics card. I wouldn't say $125 but after my research I would say $250-$300.
I can promise you that's not ddr3.
__________________

__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 06:02 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

Same, DDR3 is rather new still...Pentium 4 was around during the DDR and early DDR2 days. No chipset was ever made for DDR3.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 11:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Same, DDR3 is rather new still...Pentium 4 was around during the DDR and early DDR2 days. No chipset was ever made for DDR3.
What gives it away is, he states "2.5gb ddr3" Have you ever seen a 512mb stick of ddr3?
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 11:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
What gives it away is, he states "2.5gb ddr3" Have you ever seen a 512mb stick of ddr3?
That and it being physically impossible....
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 11:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

I'm pretty sure it isn't DDR3. I still have my Pentium 4 desktop in a closet.

Here is some history:

Pentium 4 started production from 2000 until 2008.
Pentium 4 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Core 2 started in 2006.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Core_2

According to Wikipedia, "DDR3 was launched in 2007".
DDR3 SDRAM - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

DDR3 might work with Pentium 4 because DDR3 support is determined by the motherboard, not the processor.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 05:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

In my opinion selling it for $250-$300 would be taking advantage of whomever the buyer is. It's worth $150 on a good day.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 06:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

you can buy p4's ~3ghz for $10 bucks shipped. and dell computers does not allow overclocking. to the un-informed buyers 3.4 ghz might sound very good. but the fact is that system is just very old. You asked, we gave our honest opinion, we have NOTHING to gain by low balling you.On my phone again, so formatting probably gone.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:57 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

Prototype, you are half right, and half wrong. In the P4 era, motherboard chipset determined your memory type. Now in days, it is both the motherboard (NOT THE CHIPSET, it is just the particular slots and processors supported by the board) and the processor, as the memory controller, is built into the cpu instead of the chipset. Also, there was, at one time, SOME 512MB sticks of low end DDR3 in its very early days, it isn't physically impossible.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 01:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Trying to sell my Dell Dimension 4700

And did they make motherboards that support both DDR3 and P4s? I've never seen or heard of one, and would call any company that made on quite silly.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to run system recovery on dell demension 4700 HELP! Dant22185 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-25-2009 11:01 PM
Old dell dimension XPS Yek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 02-11-2008 01:34 PM
to anyone with a dell dimension joshd Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 03-06-2006 04:53 PM
Dell 4700 system problem 3.4 GHZ TrukinDave Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-31-2006 06:09 PM
Dell Dimension 4700 problems TrukinDave Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 01-17-2006 08:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.