Trying to replace a mobo on an old computer case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2010, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default Trying to replace a mobo on an old computer case

Hello I'm trying to get started on building something and I needed a case which I was lucky to get a donation from somebody.

The computer is an emachines t6528 and I'm not a hundred percent sure but I think the case is M atx case.

eMachines Official Site - - T6528 Product Details

The parts are more or less still in here but this things old and I plan to replace everything save the dvd drive and hard drive but I need to make sure I can use the motherboard I got with this case.

Newegg.com - MSI 870-G45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard

Thats the motherboard I got.
__________________

HeartofShadows is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 09:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Trying to replace a mobo on an old computer case

Yes, the eMachine case is an mATX case. My wife's old eMachine (W2040) case worked just fine with a standard mATX board dropped into it.

That MSI board WILL NOT fit into the case, however. You will need a different case or a mATX board.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Trying to replace a mobo on an old computer case

Yes, the eMachine case is an mATX case. My wife's old eMachine (W2040) case worked just fine with a standard mATX board dropped into it.

That MSI board WILL NOT fit into the case, however. You will need a different case or a mATX board.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Text In Multiple Files With Replace Text Software Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 01-04-2010 02:19 PM
replace mobo, now no boot, any suggestion? christop4 System Upgrades 4 02-14-2008 07:57 PM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 01:48 AM
how to replace an HD into an computer from an old one littshepkid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-02-2006 05:52 PM
formatted my computer. stuck at invalid system disk replace and press any key coco Microsoft Windows and Software 11 11-30-2005 12:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.