Trying to install ad HD, windows not seeing it. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2011, 08:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Trying to install ad HD, windows not seeing it.

My computer setup, Windows 7 64bit,MB Microstar MS-7125 Nvidia Nforce 4 chipset, AMD Athlon 64X2 4400+, RAM 4gig (4x1), Graphics card EVGA Nvidia GeForce 7800GT,primary HD Seagate 250gig SATA.

Ok I have a Hitachi 250gig IDE HD I am trying to install on my computer as a back up drive. I know it is not the same brand as my primary Seagate, but I need a back up drive and right now its all I have. This drive is a replacement from Hitachi for a defective drive, I don't know if it has been formatted or not. I guess its a new drive. So I plugged it into my comuter, in my CMOS setup it is the IDE Primary Slave, I have the jumpers set to slave, and my primary HD is IDE, third Master. When I boot to windows, it saw the drive and said , installing drivers for Hitachi HD. Looks good. But when I check my computer, I don't see the drive. My floppy DVD is D drive, so this should be my E drive, but its not there.

I have Speccy utility on my computer and it sees the drive Hitachi interface PATA. I just cant figure out why Windows does not show the drive in My Computer, when it saw it when I first booted up and installed the drivers. And I see it in my CMOS and in Speccy.
__________________

Runfox is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: Trying to install ad HD, windows not seeing it.

Ok so I see the drive in disk management, and I think it needs to be formatted. But I cant seam to get and system tools or format option there. So I think I will put it in a portable case and try to format it that way..
__________________

Runfox is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 10:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: Trying to install ad HD, windows not seeing it.

Ok feeling stupid right now. I have never done this before but I figured it out, so simple DUH. Right click on the drive volume, create simple volume, follow the wizard, created a volume, NTFS and a drive letter E , all done.
Runfox is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Trying to install ad HD, windows not seeing it.

glad we could help
__________________
Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install the WinXP HyperTerminal client on Windows Vista or Windows 7 Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-06-2010 11:57 AM
Windows Install and Re-Install Question Pain53 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-13-2008 07:05 PM
Windows XP Fresh Install or Rewrite windows over top of itself whitedove Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-17-2008 01:41 PM
NEC Versa windows 3.11 no cd or floppy (need to install windows 98??) aff1993 System Upgrades 6 04-05-2006 02:59 AM
Never Install Windows Blinds/ThemeXP on Microsoft Windows XP Proffesional DvDaf Microsoft Windows and Software 9 01-20-2005 01:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.