trying to fit new mother board into comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default trying to fit new mother board into comp

i was wondering if i can fit an Intel D915GAGL Socket 775 ATX Mother Board PCI Express into my emachines w2888. i just got quake 4 and im using an ati radeon 9250 pci bus graphics card. and i want to be able to switch out the mother boards. well my question is... can i fit the mother board into my comp or do i have to build another comp?
__________________

gungrave247 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 11:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

gungrave, just a question, do you play counter strike source under tht name?
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 11:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

What format is the motherboard? ATX? If the case is ATX it will fit, some ATX cases will also accept smaller boards such as Micro ATX and AT. But you need to check documentation to know for sure.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 05:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Are you planning on upgrading your processor?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Ż\_(ツ)_/Ż
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

The board is microATX, so it will fit in both microATX and ATX cases.

You might want to spring for a new PSU while you're at it, though. LGA775's suck up the juice.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

Always another upgrade isn't there?
__________________
The box said \"Requires Windows 98 or better\"....so I installed Linux. There\'s no going back.
GX1_Man is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 02:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Emachines, use MicroATX form factors.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.