Trouble on first boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2006, 02:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default Trouble on first boot

Putting together a computer. On first start, there is nothing on the screen and no beeping noise. All fans runs.
Rechecked connections. Later, I swapped the PSU from a 450W to 600W (both new units). Result the same.
Two things I have not check - memory (any possible way to check if defective or not) and CPU (Another person placed the CPU onto MOB. I forgot to check before placing the heatsink onto it.)
One thing that really bothers me is this little light (above the memory slots-denoted with "LED8") that lites up on the MOB. I can't seem to find any information about it on the manual or on the web.
Any help is appreciated. Thanks ahead.

ECS 915P-A rev:1.1
P4 2.8GHz
ati radeon x850xt
patriot 512MB PC2 4200 DDR2
maxtor 300GB SATA150
Enermax 450W

akachun is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Reset the bios. Check my sticky on how to. Try stripping everything but the essentials to boot. Next step would be to RMA the motherboard.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 10:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

did you connect the 4pin plug to the mobo?
the video card have a 6pin pci-e power connector did you connect the plug to it?
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11


What Sticky are you referring to?
akachun is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to socom36252

The light above the ram is good. it telling you that the motherboard is recieving power. Check your graphics card connection. And possibly your hard drive. It possible it is the ram so download mem test and put it on a bootable floppy. It will tell you if there are any problems. If it does then get and rma or return the ram if its in warrenty for the same product or different your choice. but dont go cheap on ram it will hurt you in the long wrong. I found that out the hard way and had to return some bad ram i got from patriot. GOOD LUCK!
AMD Athlon 64 6000+ X2
M2N-SLI Deluxe
eVGA 7900 gt superoverclocked
WinFast TV Tuner
2 gb of Crucial DDR2 800
120 gb sata2 and 250 sata2
500 watt psu
Windows XP Home
socom36252 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.