Transferring HDDs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2014, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Transferring HDDs

My father's office computers have been running strong since they were built, seven years ago. Recently, though, one of the HDDs have been acting up. After some research, we've come to the conclusion that the drive is reaching the end of its life. As sad as it is, we want to make sure that there is as little hassle as possible when the little guy finally kicks the digital bucket.

What I want to do is buy a new drive (roughly the same capacity), and copy all the files and folders from the old drive to the new one. Are there any special steps I would need to take if I were to do that, or would it be a simple copy/paste job?
(We're running XP, also. Dunno if that matters much.)
__________________

__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Transferring HDDs

Are you planning on installing a new OS or a fresh install of the existing OS on the new drive? Or are you wanting to clone the entire drive over?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Transferring HDDs

Absolute identical clone.
__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Transferring HDDs

CloneZilla to clone
GParted to resize partition(s)
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default

Do those have binary versions, or do I need to install them?
__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Transferring HDDs

You burn them to a CD or put them on a USB drive and boot off of them.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default

That works too. Thanks again for your help.
__________________

__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
file transfer, new hdd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 HDDs or 4 HDDs for a 160gig SATA raid? jaross New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-18-2005 06:13 PM
2 HDDs or 2 RAID 0 HDDs? TheOne Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 09-10-2004 05:30 PM
What Makes Seagate So Quite? Any Differences Between Seagate And Other HDDs? ag3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 06-28-2004 08:33 PM
Want to dual boot from 2 HDDs both with XP jasonv Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-10-2004 08:57 PM
Laptop HDDs CerialPhreak Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 01-11-2003 03:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.