Transferring everything to the new Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2005, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default Transferring everything to the new Hard Drive

Hi, I'm new here. This message board is quite impressive.

I have just bought a new Maxtor 40GB Hard Drive, I want it to replace the old Seagate 40GB one. I have a pre-built PC from a shop so the OS (Windows XP) is OEM and therefore no CD. It is on the hard drive as you might already know. Now if I transfer everything to this new drive, will my OS remain installed, will the partitions (3) remain as they are, will every single tiny bit on my current hard drive be moved to the new one, will everything after the tranfer be normal as it is now, meaning my computer would just keep working as it does now, smoothly? Please mention anything relevant, would really appreciate.

Windows XP
MSI MS-6507
Intel P4 2.0 GHz
256MB Ram (Upgrading to 1GB in a day or two)
GeForce 4 MX 420
Seagate (40 GB 5400 RPM Ultra ATA/100) Old Drive
Maxtor (40 GB 7200 RPM Ultra ATA/133) New Drive

entralinks is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 02:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21

I hope i dont sound too stupid, but why dont you keep your current HDD and use your new one as a slave drive?
Unless you havent got the space in your case.

mds303 is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21

mds my old drive is about 3 years old and has 5400RPM, it can die any minute and is slow. The new one is brand new, and has 7200RPM, so I want this one to be the main drive, and probably use that old one to store stuff.
entralinks is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 03:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

If dyeing is a concern, the seagate is still alot less likely to fail than a cheap maxtor drive.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker

I would appreciate an answer to this also, since I also need to move stuff from this HD to a new SATA.
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 01:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261

Me too... my old HD on my Compaq is going slower and slower all the time so I would like an exact replica of it. So an answer from all of you smart people out there would be very helpful... thanks.

dbernie41 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.