Transfering data between 2 computers. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2009, 02:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Default Transfering data between 2 computers.

Hey all, I have 2 computers connected to a router and modem and am curious if there is a way to transfer data between the 2 using the router somehow. If so what program would I need to do it? Thanks!



Matt
__________________

Army11b is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Transfering data between 2 computers.

You can just send files across the network. No program needed.

What operating systems are the two computers
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Default Re: Transfering data between 2 computers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
You can just send files across the network. No program needed.

What operating systems are the two computers
XP on both. Thanks


Matt
Army11b is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: Transfering data between 2 computers.

You can you windows xp's network setup wizard on each machine.
This may also help.. How to setup a network of windows xp computers : TweakXpert.com
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Transfering data between 2 computers.

^^ yep both of those will work just fine with xp.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Default Re: Transfering data between 2 computers.

Thanks guys I figured it out!


Matt
Army11b is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Transfering data between 2 computers.

Thank you very much for letting us know.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfering data problem.... help. LightingBird Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-27-2009 03:59 PM
data backup and more Steve_X Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-29-2009 05:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.