Transfer CPU.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1
Smile Transfer CPU....

I have a Gateway Windows XP computer just sitting around. I want to put the CPU in the XP - into my Vista. Is there ..any tips before I start this operation?? I mean - I would like to transfer it all but I am new to this dept. of transferrals. I consider myself pretty savvy when it comes to fixing what ailes the robot but I'm new to the hardware side..

Thanks so much!

thenudo is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Transfer CPU....

Transferring the OS? no you can't. The license is tied to your motherboard. Switching it to another system will not work.

Otherwise, I'm not sure what you are trying to implement.

__________________ Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: Transfer CPU....

Welcome to the forum.

We need alot more info on your 2 system, model numbers will do.

There are maNY different cpu's so it may not be possible.
Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 35
Default Re: Transfer CPU....


Download Speccy on both computers - Speccy - System Information - Free Download

Let us know the CPU information on the computer you wish to take the CPU out of.

Also let us know the Motherboard information of the computer you will be installing the CPU into.

Once we have that we can check compatibility.
lasvegascomputer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer And Backup Files With File Transfer Software Fling Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 06-08-2009 06:59 AM
how to transfer to a new PC Highlandcomp Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-09-2008 10:01 PM
Transfer STEELERGLENN Microsoft Windows and Software 21 05-12-2006 07:23 AM
hd to hd transfer tpham303 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-13-2005 08:24 PM
xp transfer cturns Microsoft Windows and Software 6 07-14-2003 07:27 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.