Tips and Ideas for Beginners

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gilles

In Runtime
As stated in an earlier thread, I'm totally new to building computers (apart from installing RAM and the odd video card). I've been trying to learn as much as I can on my own, but it's so much easier to ask. I am looking to build a pretty powerful PC, but have I to wait until my bank account doesn't look so empty. In the meantime I'm working on an old computer trying to learn to tear it apart, and build it, so you'll probably see a lot of questions from me later. This was a bit longer than planned. :p

So I didn't want to ask you guys to just give me a build, I'd rather come up with the build myself, being the proud egotistical person I am.So instead I'd rather ask questions and get some part "ideas". Perhaps we can fool my ego.

So my initial thought was to just build a powerhouse PC for around $2000. Now I'm thinking I don't have the budget to build something like that, and would rather build something that can be upgraded to a high performance PC. I'm not sure exactly how to do this, my guess would be to get a solid Motherboard and Processor, then go a little skimpy on RAM, Video Card, and HDD, and upgrade them later.

Does anyone have any ideas for a good Motherboard and Processor that can be paired with some mediocre RAM and Video Card, and then upgraded later? I realize the longer I wait the more outdated my "nice" motherboard and processor will be, so 'later' will probably be around February and I'll get the Motherboard and Processor in November.

So that was quite long, I hope I didn't bore you.

Its best to get the parts all around the same time, because when you get the last set of parts you will realize that the parts you bought earlier have gotten cheaper.