Time to upgrade? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2015, 09:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Why the 970 PP?
Is there something better about a 970?
__________________

__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 09:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Because a 970 is better than a 960 and 280x?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 10:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Thought I'd get a better reply, "Because" really doesn't cut it
Nvidia faces false advertising lawsuit over GTX 970 specs - PC Gamer

.
__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 12:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
Thought I'd get a better reply, "Because" really doesn't cut it
Nvidia faces false advertising lawsuit over GTX 970 specs - PC Gamer

.
And yet it still performs well..
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 03:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Aah right fair enough then, and last question:
Will my PSU be able to power the 970?
RianJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 04:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

As far as I'm aware, the Nvidia chips are better at raw processing than AMD chips, so if you're not looking to upgrade the CPU, an Nvidia chip would be the best option. In my opinion the best value chip is the GTX960, but the GTX970 will blow it out the water in terms of raw performance, so that'd probably be my choice... you'll also have the ability to touch on 4K gaming (not at ultra though) with the 970 as it's more capable!

If I'm honest, the memory configuration of the GTX970 isn't too much of a problem. the performance decrease when using the last 500MB of memory isn't as large as some make out, and even if a game says it's "using" 4GB, in most cases the memory is only reserved and not being used anyway, only in occasional scenarios.

And yes, your power supply is more than capable, the GTX970 needs 28A on the 12V rail (probably 30A to give you some headroom), and your PSU supplies 46A which is plenty!
cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 06:40 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
Thought I'd get a better reply, "Because" really doesn't cut it
Nvidia faces false advertising lawsuit over GTX 970 specs - PC Gamer

.
A GTX 970 is a great deal better than a 960 in performance.

The lawsuit is particularly stupid, and the whole 3.5GB bull**** on the internet is as stupid as everything else going on like the rebel flag, Bruce Jenner, and all that retarded nonsense. The card HAS 4GB of VRAM and in the 8 months of my roomie having one he hasn't had a single issue playing all his games at 1080p. It's not exactly false advertising when the card has exactly as the box states. People just don't understand how GPUs work or how the cut down process works. Much like it's been 5 years and people still don't understand how an AMD module works.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time poster...First time problem. "OPERATING SYSTEM NOT FOUND." oncearunner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-07-2007 07:17 AM
No time for gaming....No time for nothing.... beedubaya Off Topic Discussion 21 02-22-2005 09:03 PM
(1st time poster again) This time there really is an attachment kehlerfam Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-16-2005 11:15 PM
Too much time, with no time to spare... ShoobieRat Off Topic Discussion 4 02-14-2005 02:36 PM
Show the time in the users time zone? Nasimov Programming 1 12-24-2003 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.