Time to upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2015, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default Time to upgrade?

Okay, so...
Last year I built a budget PC;
ASUS HD 7850 2gb
AMD FX-8350 octocore cpu
MSI 970 gaming motherboard
Normal 1tb HDD
8GB HyperX 1833MHz RAM
Corsair cx600 PSU
ect ect...
And although the build is OKAY, I'm planning to upgrade it to;
16GB of the same RAM
MSI Radeon R9 280 3GB
I5-4690K
MSI 787-G45 motherboard
(an additional 120-160gb SSD to boot from)
All of these upgrades should cost me around 550...
For this price could I get better upgrades?
Are my choices okay?
Will everything run smoothly together? Thanks.


Edit: This build will be MAINLY for dayz, rust, bf4 ect...
__________________

RianJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigdog33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 184
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

If its for gaming.... there is no reason for 16gb ram.... 8gb is plenty and I would go with Geforce gtx 960 for few dollars more. Let's wait and see what others think as well.
__________________

bigdog33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog33 View Post
If its for gaming.... there is no reason for 16gb ram.... 8gb is plenty and I would go with Geforce gtx 960 for few dollars more. Let's wait and see what others think as well.
Yeah after making this post I have been doing a little more research and it seems if I did go down that route it'd be best to go with a 960 as it's supposed to be great for price-performance rating.
RianJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

is there a particular 960 you recommend? There are many different brands to go with
RianJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigdog33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 184
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

I would go with Evga, MSI and ASUS Gigabyte is pretty good as well.
bigdog33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 01:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

I'd say scratch all the rest besides maybe the ssd and get a 970 instead.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 04:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I'd say scratch all the rest besides maybe the ssd and get a 970 instead.
Would the CPU not get bottlenecked by the 970 though?
And with that issue the new CPU would need a different motherboard to use so it's more of a domino effect.
RianJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 06:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

No your current setup is sufficient. I know there was already a long discussion in another thread about it, but since you already have this I see no reason to upgrade it right now. You will see a bigger difference getting a better GPU for now.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 06:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
No your current setup is sufficient. I know there was already a long discussion in another thread about it, but since you already have this I see no reason to upgrade it right now. You will see a bigger difference getting a better GPU for now.
Aah okay fair enough, thank you.
Another question, with games like dayz, arma 3 (high CPU required games) Will the graphics card update help improve the general frames? I can obviously run dayz with playable fps, however I do find myself getting ****ed over in multiple situations because of the frames. Will the GPU upgrade help, or will I need a new CPU to be able to handle these?
RianJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: Time to upgrade?

You running the standalone ****Z? If so, nothing you do will help your frames. Look at my rig in my sig, I get like 30fps at best because the game is so ****. Arma 3 should be fine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time poster...First time problem. "OPERATING SYSTEM NOT FOUND." oncearunner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-07-2007 07:17 AM
No time for gaming....No time for nothing.... beedubaya Off Topic Discussion 21 02-22-2005 09:03 PM
(1st time poster again) This time there really is an attachment kehlerfam Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-16-2005 11:15 PM
Too much time, with no time to spare... ShoobieRat Off Topic Discussion 4 02-14-2005 02:36 PM
Show the time in the users time zone? Nasimov Programming 1 12-24-2003 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.